« AnteriorContinua »
manufactories. Lowestoft has lately been much frequented as a bathing place, for which its sands are well adapted. The town is greatly indebted to Sir S: M. Peto, Bart., of Somerleyton Hall, who purchased the harbour in 1844, and originated a company for the improvement of the port and town, the deepening of Lake Lothing, &c. He carried also the branch railway from Reedham to Lowestoft, thus placing the latter in a very advantageous commercial position. Pop. 1851, 6580.
GREAT YARMOUTH, a considerable seaport town and a place of great antiquity. The old town is situated on the eastern bank of the Yare, and is connected with the new town, called Little Yarmouth, by means of a bridge. The old town had walls, and consists of four parallel steeets, and of about 150 narrow cross lanes, called rows. The best dwelling-houses are situated along the quay, which is considered the finest in the kingdom, having in the centre a noble promenade, planted on each side with trees. The principal buildings are the old church, erected in 1123, and recently restored, several chapels, banks, a town-hall, theatre, assembly-room, bathing-house, &c. There are several charitable institutions, the principal of which is the Seamen's Hospital, and extensive barracks, containing a large armoury. There is an extensive manufactory for crapes and other silk goods. Ship-building, and the various trades connected with it, are carried on to some extent. The rivers Yare, Waveney, and Bure, which unite in Breydon Water, contiguous to the town, secure to Yarmouth an extensive inland trade. The exportation of grain and malt is considerable ; but the principal business of this port consists of the herring and mackerel fisheries. An extensive timber trade with the Baltic is also carried on, and Yarmouth Roads have long been the principal rendezvous for the collier trade. Customs Revenue, 1850, £38,372:11:11. It is one of the termini of the Eastern Counties Railway, and thus holds communication with all important parts of the kingdom. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 30,879. Near Yarmouth is a beautiful fluted column, 140 feet high, in memory of Lord Nelson.
SOUTHEND (Essex) is situated on an acclivity at the mouth of the Thames opposite to Sheerness. It has of late years risen into some importance as a bathing-place. Here is an assembly-room, a theatre, library, meeting-house, baths, bathing machines, &c. Near this place a stone marks the termination of the jurisdiction of the corporation of London over the Thames. Steam vessels sail thither regularly during summer.
On the Naze, a projecting piece of land, on the east coast of Essex, 18 miles from Colchester, is the village of Walton, of late in some repate se a bathing place.
COLCHESTER, 71; Müles.
Ardleigh Park; and to Great Bromley Hall and Bromley Lodge, 4 miles.
Manningtree was anciently called Sciddinchon. It is a railway station, and carries on a considerable trade in malt, corn, coals, deals, iron, and fish.
HABICE, a railway statica situated on tongue of land opposite the mouth of the Stour and the Orwell, bass
spacions harbour, capable or 604
containing more than 100 m
4 miles across the Orwel
Felixstove, Sir. S. Findset, 1711 Bart
CLXXIX. LONDON TO SOUTHEND, THROUGH BARKING, RAINHAM, STAN.
FORD LE HOPE, AND HADLEIGH, 39: Miles.
BARKING WAS formen celebrated for its sunset said to have been the Convent for women in Een land. The church contais several brasses asd other monuments. Barking a its neighbourhood opp London with vast quantities of vegetables 1 m. dist. Eastbury House, a carico antique building, tradities
ally associated with the 131 powder plot, as the ples
where the conspirator bed their meetins Pop Barking, 1851, 4934
At Purdeet are large gol 16 vernment powder magazine gi! Near Wisnington is Bel
House, Sir T. B. Lennard,
18 mile from Stibord I Belmont Castle
CLXXX. LONDON TO SOUTHEND THROUGH ROMFORD, BRENTWOOD,
BILLERICAY, AND RAYLEIGH, 414 Miles.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
N LEFT FROM LOND.
BILLERICAY is situ From Whitechapel Ch. ated on an eminence commanding fine views 231 to BRENTWOOD (p. 470.)) Rayleigh was formerly of the Thames and the
Ja town of some import
Shenfield. coast of Kent. Here is
ance. It has an old a church said to have
BILLERICAY. 231 church, and some traces been founded in the time
of an old castle. 5 m. of Edward III. The
distant is Rochford, near tower may be of that
which is Rochford Hall, age, but the body of the 541 Hadleigh Common. 361
where Anne Boleyne was chapel is comparatively modern. Pop. 1284.
SOUTHEND (p. 479.)
| 412/ born in 1507.Boleyne wag
CLXXXI. LONDON TO BEDFORD, BY RAILWAY, 63 Miles.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
From London by
London and North Wes15 Fenny Stratford St. 48
and is probably the site of the Little Brickhill, and
Ancient Magiovintum. Dr Wiis,
the antiquarian, died here in beyond, Great Brickhill,
1760, and was buried in the chapel P. 'D. Duncombe, Esq.
cr. river Ouzel.
Wavendon Hall, Sir
H. A. Hoare, Bart. Woburn Abbey, Duke 12 Woburn Sands St.
Husboru Crawley. of Bedford.
Hulcote, 2 miles, and Segenhoe Park.
Ridgmount St. 153 Hulcote House.
CLXXXII. PETERBOROUGH TO STAMFORD, MELTON-MOWBRAY, AD
LEICESTER, BY RAILWAY, 53 Miles.
ON RIGHT FROM PETERB.
ON LEIT TROX ZIRE
(see p. 420), to
Milton Park, ET 50 Walton St.
3 william. Werrington.
Walcot Hall, 1 Stamford is situated 43 Uffington St. 10
of Lindsey. on the line of the Roman Ermine Street. Two
Along banks of river miles to the north-west,
Welland. at the village of Great
Burghley House) Castertou, Roman anti- 401 STAMFORD St. (see p. 888.) 124 quis of Ereter (see quities have been found.
388). Acr. river Welland, Tinwell.
and enter Rutlandshire. Normanton Pa., 2 m.,
Ketton St. 167! Lord Aveland; 3 m. far: 347 Luffenham St. ther, Exton Hall (Earl of
Uppingham, 34 Egleton. 1 mile distant Burley
18 cr. river Gwash. (see p. 565). Park, Mr. Finch. 264 OAKHAM St. (see p. 565.) | 264
211) Whissendine St. 814
RIGHT TROX PETERB.
ON LEFT FROM PETERB.
187 Saxby St.
Stapleford Hall, Earl
of Harborough. Freeby.
Along valley of river Brentingby.
Burton Lazars; beWreak, which the line yond, Little Dalby Hall, Thorpe Arnold; 5 m. itant, Goadby Hall. crosses several times.
3 miles. Sysonby Lodge, Earl 15 MELTON-MOWBRAY St. 38 Bessborough, 2 miles.
(see p. 362). Sysonby.
127 Kirby St. 404
Brookesby Hall. 91 Brookesby St. 434 Thrussington.
8 Rearsby St. 45 Ratcliffeon Wreak.
Queniborough, 1 mile. 4 Syston Junction St. 481) Barkby Hall,'w. PoWanlip Hall, Sir G. J. Join Midland Railway.
chin, Esq., 1 mile. almer, Bart. Thurmaston. Birstall House. LEICESTER (p. 854).
CLXXXIII. LONDON TO WARE AND HERTFORD, BY RAILWAY, 26 Miles.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
From Bishopsgate St.
to Leave main line of 7 Broxbourne Junction St. 19 Hoddesdon, a small Worthern and Eastern
(as in p. 450). market town, 17 miles tailway.
from London, and 4 miles The Rye House, the
to the south-east of Hertcene of the pretended
cr. New River. ford. Pop. 1861, 1864. onspiracy of 1683, is in and follow its course. The present day the fre
(See p. 381). uent resort of the Loo
Haileybury College, 2 con angler, who finds 57 Rye House St.
miles, belonging to the cood sport in the Lea and
East India Company. he New River, both in
Amwell, a pretty vil. Es immediate vicinity.
lage (see p.887). A votive 4
urn, surrounded by a
St. Margaret's St. Faseney Park.
22 thicketofevergreens, was
erected here in 1800, to The Priory and Poles.
14 WARE St. 247 the memory of Sir Hugh Ware Park.
(see p. 387).
Myddleton, by whose
patriotic exertions the Hertford, the countyi
waters of New River own of Herts, is situated
were originally conveyed on the south bank of the
to the metropolis. -iver Lea. A castle was
Balls Park, Marquis of erected here in the tenth
Brickencentury, of which a few
donbury, and beyor remains still exist. But
Panshanger (Earl the present castle was!