Imatges de pàgina
PDF
EPUB
[graphic]

Elvedon Hall, Earl of 327 Elvedon. Albemarle.

upcrthe Little Ouse

river. Euston Hall, Duke of 281. THETFORD (p. 465.) 1 801 King's House Grafton, beyond which

In the distance, San is Schadewell Lodge, Sir

ton Downham Hall, Earl R. J. Buxton, Bart.

|(To Bury St Edmunds, 197| Cadogan. Russhford Lodge, Rid m.; to East Harling, 94 m.) dlesworth Hall, and Kil. verstone Hall. 13 mile distant West 211 Larling Heath.

Wretham Hall, W. Harling Hall.

Birch, Esq.

Hockham Hall, H. 2 miles distant Eccles

Larlingford.

Partridge, Esq. Hall, and farther to the

07 Shropham Hall, H. right, Quidenham Hall,

Hemsworth, Esq. Earl of Albemarle.

Hargham Hall, Sir T. B. Beevor, Bart.

Attleborough Hall, Sil

W. B Smijth, Bart Attleborough. 94 To Watton, 10 miles

to Hingham, 5 miles. | Burfield Hali; Cack

House. Stanfield Hall (late J. 87 WYMONDHAM (p. 465.) 100 l,

9 m. distant Kimber Jermy, Esq., the victim

ley Hall, Lord Wode of Rush), and near it,

house, containing a fine Ketteringham Hall, Sir 5 Hethersett. 1037

portrait of Vandyke by J. P. Boilean, Bart.

himself, and surrounded

by beautiful grounds. Intwood Hall, J. S.

Cringleford.

Melton Hall, and Colney 2

106

Hall, Muskett, Esq.

Cringleford Hall, Keswick Hall, H. Gurney,

cross river Yare. Eeq., and Keswick Ho., R. H. Gurney, Esq.

Eaton.

1063Earlham Hall, J. J.

Gurney, Esq, and Eaton
Hall.

NORWICH (p. 465.) 1087 EPPING is situated in a district formerly very woody, and preserved by our ancient monarchs for the enjoyment of the sports of the field. It was then called Waltham Forest, and extended almost to the capital. In the same neighbourhood also was Hainault Forest, lately disafforested, where a fair was held for many centuries, under a remarkable tree, well known by the name of Fairlop Oak, which existed till recently, and was of prodigious size. A stag was annually turned out in the forest for the amusement of the public on Easter Monday, The town of Epping is singularly irregular in its appearance. It preserves the fame it has long enjoyed for its cream, butter, sausages, and pork. About a milo from Epping in the forest, is Queen Elizabeth's hunting lodge.

DEVIL's Ditch is an ancient Roman entrenchment, which runs in a straight line for several miles across Newmarket heath.

NEWMARKET, situated partly in Cambridge and partly in Suffolk, derives its celebrity from horse-racing, for which it is the most famous place in the kingdom. The races are held seven times a-year. The first, called the Craven meeting, commences on Easter Monday, then follow two spring meetings, one in July, and three in October. Most of the houses in Newmarket are of modern construction, and many of them are very handsome. Charles II. built a seat here, afterwards burnt, but which frequently became the residence of royalty subsequent to his time. The town possesses two churches and several meeting. houses. Pop. 1851, 3356.

At Swaffham St Cyriac, five miles from Newmarket, is a curiously constructed charch, the lower part of which is square, the second storey has eight sides, and he upper storey sixteen.

THETFORD was formerly a town of considerable size and importance, having had a Cluniac priory, a nunnery, a Dominican friary, and several smaller religious houses, all of which are now destroyed. Of the twenty churches which it once possessed, only three now remain,-St Peter's, commonly called the “ black church," because built chiefly of ilint-St Cuthbert's on the Norfolk side, and St Mary's on the Suffolk side of the river. Here are also several dissenting chapels and meeting-houses. Considerable remains of the Cluniac priory and of the nunnery still exist, and some relics of the other ancient religious structures. There is an ancient grammar-school ; and, near the town, a chalybeate spring, with a handsome pump-room, reading-room, and baths, erected in 1819. Thetford was the occasional residence of Henry I., Henry Il., Elizabeth, and James I. Tom Paine was a native of this place. It carries on a small trade in corn and coals. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 4075.

WYMONDHAM or WYNDHAM is a town of considerable extent, and has been moch improved of late years. A priory of black monks was established here before 1107 by William de Albini, chief butler to Henry I. The only part of the conventual buildings now remaining is a portion of the church, which is at prerent used as the parish church.

NORWICH, the capital of Norfolk, is situated on the Wensum, and Eastern Counties Railway. It is a place of great antiquity, and was a flourishing town n the time of Edward the Confessor. The most interesting buildings in Norrich are the castle and the cathedral. The former is supposed to have been reuilt by Roger Bigod, in the reign of William the conqueror, and comprehended n area of not less than twenty-three acres. The keep maintains its ancient prm externally, but the inner part has been much altered, in order to adapt it to be purpose of a gaol, to which it has been long applied. The entrance tower, nown as Bigod's tower, has lately been restored. The foundation of the catheral was laid in 1094 by Herbert Losinga, the Bishop, in whose time the see was moved from Thetford to Norwich. The work was carried on by succeeding

bishops, and the spire was not erected till 1361. The architecture is chiefly Nor man. The spire is 315 feet high, and the interior, 411 feet by 191 feet, is adorned with a fine font and numerous interesting monuments. On the north side of the cathedral is the bishop's palace, a large irregular edifice, built by different prelates. It, as well as the cathedral, suffered much from the mistaken zeal of the Puritans. Losigna laid the foundations of a Benedictine priory at the same time as those of the cathedral, but only a few traces of the former remain. Norwich contains thirty-six churches and numerous meeting-houses. Some of the churches are valuable specimens of ancient architecture. The most conspicuos is that of St Peter's, Mancroft, a large and handsome edifice, in which is a tablet to the memory of Sir Thomas Browne, the author of the "Religio Medici." The other objects most worthy of notice are, St Julian's Church, exhibiting some fine specimens of Saxon architecture; St Lawrence, with a square tower 112 feet high ; St Andrew's Hall, formerly the nave of the church belonging to the Black Friars, now the common hall of the city, adorned with paintings and other ornaments, and used for the musical festivals held here; Erpingham's gate, an elegant specimen of ancient architecture, facing the west end of the cathedral; the free and numerous other schools, the shire hall in the castle ditch, the new city gaol, the infirmary, numerous banks, theatres, barracks, a public library, the museum of natural history and antiquities, &c. The charitable institutions and charities, such as hospitals and alms-houses, are very numerous.

The most important trade of the town consists of the manufacture of silk, worsted, and cotton into shawls, crapes, bombazines, damasks, camlets, and imitations of the Irish and French stuffs. There is also a considerable manufacture of shoes.

Dr Caius, one of the founders of Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, Dr Samuel Clarke, Harmer the biblical critic, Beloe the translator, and Archbishop Parker, were natives of Norwich. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 68,195.

About 4 miles from Norwich is Costessy Hall, the fine seat of Jerningham, Lord Stafford. The house is partly ancient, partly modern. Contiguous to the house is a handsome Gothic chapel.

Twelve miles from Norwich is WORSTEAD, formerly the seat of a considerable manufacture, introduced by the Flemings, of woollen twists and stuffs, called from it "worsted goods;" but this manufacture was, in the reigns of Richard Il. and Henry IV., removed to Norwich. The church is a fine building, with a beautiful tower, and contains a font of peculiar richness, and a curious woodes Acreen.

SUDBURY, BURY ST EDMUNDS, AND THETFORD, 111: Miles:

[blocks in formation]

Boreham Honse, Sir J. 801

Broomfield. 31}

Dunmow, 84 miles from Tyssen Tyrell, Bart.

Little Waltham, is pleasantly

situated on an eminence. The Waltham Lodge. 78} Little Waltham. 331 church is old, and in the

centre of the town is a cross, erected in 1978, and repaired in 1761 2 miles to the east,

at Little Dunmow, was a Terling Place, Lord

cr. river Chelmer.

priory of Augustine canons, Rayleigh.

lounded in 1104. The site of the buildings is now partly occupied by the manor house

The well-known tenure of the 75} Blackwater, St. Anne's. 361 "flitch of bacon" is that by

which the manor of Little Dunmow is held. In the

vicinity is Easton Lo.. (VisBraintree is a large 731

Young's End. 38 count Maynard) which suffer. straggling town, contain

ed severely from fire a few

years ago. ing a spacious church,

BRAINTREE. standing on an eminence, 711

To Dunmow, 87 miles.

403 several meeting - houses To Colchester through Cogand cbaritable institu- geshall, 153 m.; to Witham, tions.

The silk manu- 7 miles; Maldon, 131 miles. facture employs many of the inhabitants. Pop. 703 Bocking Street.

411 1851, 2836.

Across river BlackStísted Hall.

About 2 miles from water.

Halstead is Gosfield Hall, Halstead has a good

a seat of the late E. G. grammar school and se- 684 High Garret. 43 veral churches and cha

Barnard, Esq., presentpels, banks, &c.

The

Across river Colne. ing an interesting speciprincipal manufacture is

men of the old baronial fine velvet. Pop. 1851,

hall. Here is a gallery 5658.

called Queen Elizabeth's, 651 HALSTEAD. To Colchester, 13} m.

461 in commemoration of her Colne Park.

having twice visited this Twinstead, Sir G. W. 627 Parmer's Street. 491

place. There is also a Denys, Bart.

curious sculptured stone Twinstead Hall, (Earl 591

Bulmer Tye.

chimney-piece, of Pomfret).

527 senting the Battle of

Bosworth Field. Its

park is extensive, and Ryes Lodge.

contains many fine old Sudbury was one of the

trees. first places at which Ed

cr. river Stour, and

To Castle Hedingham, ward III. settled the Fle.

6 miles. mings, whom he invited

enter Suffolk.

Auberries. over to instruct his sub- 577 SUDBURY was once a place 541, 1 mile distant, Branjects in the woollen ma- of much greater importance don Hall. nufacture. Here are

than at present. It has three Borley. some remains of a priory handsome churches and a of the order of St Au- small silk manufactory. The gustine. Archbishop Stour is navigable to this Simon of Sudbury, Gains. town. Sudbury returned one borough the painter, and M.P. till 1844, when it was Dr. Enfield, were born at disfranchised.' Pop. 1861, Sudbury.

6049

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
« AnteriorContinua »