Imatges de pàgina
PDF
EPUB

GREAT GRIMSBY, anciently Gryme, is an ancient town near the Humber, by means of which it carries on a considerable trade. It was of sufficient importance to furnish Edward III. with 11 vessels and 170 mariners for his armament against Calais ; but the harbour gradually fell to decay, until it was renovated about the beginning of the present century. There are large warehouses and cimber-yards attached to the harbour, and the new docks and tidal basin, conmenced in 1849, and to occupy 43 acres, will, combined with its railways, soon render Grimsby a formidable rival to Hull. Amount of customs duties in 1857, £27,852. St James's church contains some ancient monuments, and a large font of early English character, and the steeple is a beautiful specimen of English pointed architecture. One M.P. Pop. of Parl. borough, 1851, 12,263.

CLIII. LONDON TO GREAT GRIMSBY THROUGH SPALDING, BOSTON,

SPILSBY, AND LOUTH.

ON RIGHT FROM LOND.

| From G.

Grims.

From
London.

ON LEFT FROY LOND.

88

[ocr errors]

From Spalding

From Hicks's Hall to
10

Milton
Alconbury Hill' (p. 371.)

Park,
Crow land is 9 miles; to

Eari

Fitzwilliam, Holbeach, 71 miles.

Norman Cross. CROWLAND is a place

PETERBOROUGH.

811 of great antiquity, and

(See p. 420.)

About 8 m. from Spalis noted as the site of an

Northborough.

ding, on the right is extensive abbey, of which

HOLBRACH, a town of the church, founded by

cr. river Welland,

great antiquity; has a King Ethelbald in 716, and enter Lincolnshire. Gothic church, and two still remains. Here is St James's

grammar schools. Pop. also a bridge, supposed

SPALDING,

1851, 2245. to have been originally

DONINGTON has an erected about 860, and a town of great antiquity,

ancient church, on which carries on a considerable trade remarkable for its curiin wool. The principal build

are Festiges of a Roman ons construction. Pop. ings are, the church, town

inscription. 1861,2466.5 m. distant

To Donington, 4m. hall, court-house, theatre, is Thorney, where is a

SWINKSHEAD has ! Assembly Rooms, &c. Pop. church that formed part

handsome church and a! 1851, 7627. of an ancient abbey, the

free scbool. King Jobs possessions of which

first rested here after the were granted, at the time

loss of his baggage in of Edward VI. to the

crossing the neighbourEarl of Bedford, whose

Pinchbeck.

ing marshes. descendant, the present

cr. the river Glen. Pinchbeck has a fine Duke, is owner of the

Surfleet.

04 old church. town and of 19,000 acres

Sutterton.

1090

To Swiueshead, 7? R of the surrounding lands.

West Skirbeck House Kirton.

112 Wyberton Hall, and

To Swineshead, 6 m. Frampton Hall.

BOSTON (see p. 431.) and thence to Sleaforth u cr. river Witham.

114 miles. Burton Corner.

1177) Reresby Abbey, J. B.

Stanhope, Esq.
Sibsey.

To Tattershall,t 93 m.! To Wainfleet, 12 miles. 40

Stickney.

124 To New Bolingbroke 38 Stickford.

1264/24 miles. •The road is four miles shorter by the route through Ware and Roystou, p. 382.

+ At Tattershall are the remains of a castle erected by Sir R Cromwell in the 15th centur, and the ruins of a church, which was once a moguficent structure.

[ocr errors]

483

ON RIGHT FROM LOND.

| From G.

Grims.

From
London.

ON LEIT FROM LOND.

130

321

Esq.

[ocr errors]

Hagnaby Priory.
West Keal. 1299
341 East Keal.
Spilsby.

1327 To Wainfleet, 87 miles.

The church contains several Candlesby House and

monuments to the Willough-! Gunby Hall, A. Massing. 2011

bys. berd, Esq.

Partney. 134)

2 miles distant SausDalby Hall.

thorpe Hall.

Langton Hall.

Harrington Hall, 3 m Well Hall, Rt. Hon. R. 2611 Ulceby Cross. 1381 A. C. N. Hamilton. 1 To Alford, 3 miles. | South Thoresby Hall, 249| Calceby Beck Houses. 1401 C. T. Wood, Esq.

Calceby Ruins.

South Ormesby House, Borwell Park (H. Lis. 214

Burwell.

C.J. H. M. Massingberd, ter, Esq.) the birth-place of the celebrated Sarah

Walmsgate. Duchess of Marlborough.

LOUTH, (p. 432) 1494 To Saltfleet, 114 m.

To Wragby, 149 m.;

to Market Rasen, 13 m. Little Grimsby House.

To Horncastle,* 13 m Fotherby. 1524 Fauthorpe Hall. Utterby.

1531 Ludborough, 155 North Thoresby. 157 | 3 miles distant Haw

erby House. Waith.

1683 Holton-le-Clay. 160

2 m. distant Waltham Weelsby House.

Scartho. 1629 Hall.

To Caistor, 11 miles. GREAT GRIMSBY, 1643| Bradley and beyond

(p. 430.) i Laceby Hall. BOSTON is by some supposed to have derived its name (Botolph's Town) from it. Botolph's Monastery, which stood here. This monastery was built A. D. 654, nd was destroyed by the Danes A.D. 870. Various other religious houses exted here, but not a vestige of them now remains. The most interesting buildig in Boston is St. Botolph's church, which was built in 1309. It is a spacious and oble pile, 245 feet long, and 98 feet wide within the walls. Its tower is one of the stiest in the kingdom, being 300 feet high, lantern-shaped at the top, and visible : sea for nearly 40 miles. Boston carries on an extensive trade with the north

Europe in hemp, iron, timber, and tar. There are some few manufactures here • Horncastle, on the Bane, is noted for its horse fairs, and has a considerable trade in tanng. It is supposed to have been the Castra Hibernia of the Romans. Pop. 1851, 4921. ar it is Scrivelsby Court (Sir H. Dymoke, Bart.), the seat of the Dymoke family, champions England.

for sail-cloth, canvas, and sacking. There are also iron and brass foundries. Br means of the Witham and the canals connected with it, Boston has a navigable communication with Lincoln, Gainsborough, Nottingham, and Derby, and is connected by railway with all parts of the kingdom. Boston has a guild-bal, assembly-rooms, several churches, chapels, and banks, free grammar, blue-coat, and national schools, a theatre, several charitable institutions, &c. Boston afforts the title of baron to the Irby family. Fox, the martyrologist, was a native of Boston. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 17,158.

Louth is pleasantly situated at the eastern foot of the Wolds, and on the bank of the little river Ludd. The church of St. James is one of the finest in the county. It has a lofty and elegant tower, surmounted by a rich octagonal spire, the whole 288 feet high. The east window is remarkable for its beautiful tracery,

The grounds of the vicarage house are curiously laid out, as if attached to a ber mitage. Louth possesses a session-house, a house of correction, a guild-hall assembly rooms, several churches, chapels, and banks, a small theatre, &c. There are some manufactories of carpets, rugs, and blankets, of soap and paper, besides breweries, &c. An export trade is carried on in corn and wool. Louth is a station on the Great Northern Railway. Pop. 1851, 10,467.

CLIV. LONDON TO CAMBRIDGE THROUGH WARE, 51 Miles.

[blocks in formation]

ON RIGHT FRON LOND.

From
Camb.

From
London.

ON LEFT FROM LOND.

From Shoreditch Ch. to
13 Royston (pp. 380-381). 37}

Enter Cambridgeshire. Kneesworth Hall. 94 Melbourne.

404

Melbourne Bury.

Shrepreth Hall, and Haston.

451| in the distance, Wimple Hauxton.

Hall, Earl of Hardwicke, Junction of the road.

461

(see pp. 381-2). Trumpington. 481 Trumpington Hall. CAMBRIDGE. 503 In the distance, Mad

ingley, Sir S. V. Cotton, Bart.

In the distance, Gog Magog Hills, Lord Godolphin.

CAMBRIDGE, the county town of Cambridgeshire, stands on the river Cam, which is navigable to the Ouse, and communicates with the sea through the port of Lynn. It derives its name from the river on which it is situated. The ancient name of the river was Granta; and in Doomsday Book the town is called Grentebridge. Cambridge is a town of great antiquity. It was burned by the Danes in 871, and again in 1010. A castle was built here by William the Conqueror, but it was early suffered to go to decay, and all that now remains of it is the gate house. The chief object of attraction at Cambridge is the university, which consists of seventeen colleges and halls, situated in different parts of the town. The origin of this university is involved in obscurity, but it is supposed that Cambridge first became a seat of learning in the seventh century. According to Mr. Hallam, the date of its first incorporation is the fifteenth of Henry III., or 1231. Others say, however, that this is a mistake, and that Henry only sent a royal letter, directing that lodgings for the students should be valued according to the custom of the university, by two masters and two townsmen. The first formal charter which is extant was granted by Edward I. in the twentieth year of his reign. Some important privileges were granted to the university by Edward III. in 1333, in consequence of which such jealousy was created among the townsmen, that they at length, in 1381, broke out into open violence, and seized on and destroyed the university charters. All the present colleges or halls have been founded since the time of Edward I. Each college is a separate corporate body, holding the buildings and libraries, and possessing large funds in money, in land, in houses, and in advowsons. The constitutions of these colleges are various, as well as the amount of their property and the mode in which the scholars, fellows, and masters are appointed and remunerated. The university is a corporation by itself, to which the public library, the senate-house, the printing-press, the observatory, and some other establishments belong, and it also possesses power to make regulations for the government of the whole body, as well as to choose several of the professors." The Chancellor is the bead of the

Some of the professors are selected by the Crown, and hence their titles of Reglus Pr fessors.

U

university. The office may be tenable beyond two years by the tacit consent the university. The Vice-Chancellor is elected annually from the heads of cob leges. The members on the boards of the university amount to nearly 7200.

The following are the colleges and halls in the order of their foundation :St. Peter's College founded in 1257 by Hugh de Balsham, Bishop of Ely, and enlarged in 1826.

Clare Hall, founded 1326, by Dr. Richard Baden, as University hall, and the founded 1344, by Lady Elizabeth, sister of Gilbert de Burgh, Earl of Clare. It was rebuilt in 1638, and has a chapel built in the beginning of last century.

Pembroke Hall, founded 1343, by Mary de Valence, Countess of Pembroke, and improved by Henry VI. Her husband's death so affected her as to lead her inte retirement, and she spent her income for charitable and useful objects. William Pitt was a student here.

Gorville and Caius College, founded 1349, by Edmund Gonville, and enlarged 1558, by Dr. John Caius, who was educated in this college, and whose monument adorns the chapel. Sir Thomas Gresham, Jeremy Taylor, and Lord Chancellor Thurlow, received their education here.

Trinity Hall, founded in 1350, by Wm. Bateman, Bishop of Norwich, is appropriated chiefly to the study of civil law, and has a law library.

Corpus Christi College was founded in 1351 by two societies or guilds of Cambridge, and rebuilt in 1823, from designs by W. Wilkins, Esq.

King's College was founded in 1441, by Henry VI., for the reception of scho .ars from Eton. The chapel is a magnificent pile, and the distinguishing feature of Cambridge. The roof is remarkably beautiful, arched, but unsupported by pillars, and the whole forms one of the richest and most perfect specimens of the perpendicular style. All the windows except one are of stained glass, and the floor of the choir is of black and white marble. Parallel with the chapel is a noble range of buildings containing the library and the hall. Walsingham, Walla the Poet, Sir R. Walpole, &c., were of this college.

Queen's College was founded in 1446, by Margaret of Anjou, and enlarged in 1465, by the Queen of Edward IV. It possesses an extensive library, chapel gardens, &c.

Catherine Hall was founded in 1475, by Robert Woodlark, D.D., Chancellor the University, and has Bishop Sherlock's library.

Jesus College was founded in 1496, by John Alcock, Bishop of Ely. The hall an! gardens are fine. Flamstead, Roger North, Sterne, and Coleridge were students.

Christ's College was founded in 1466, by Henry VI., but was refounded in 1505-6, by Lady Margaret, Countess of Richmond, mother of Henry VII., wbo also founded the Lady Margaret Professorship of Divinity, the first professorship on the record of the university. Erasmus was made the Lady Margaret's Professor of Divinity in 1510. In the gardens is a mulberry tree planted by Milton.

St. John's College was founded in 1511 by the same Lady Margaret, mother of Henry VII., and has been much enlarged during the present century. It has been peculiarly prolific of eminent men.

« AnteriorContinua »