Imatges de pàgina
PDF
EPUB
[blocks in formation]

COLDSTREAM, Occupying a level and elevated situation on the north bank of the Tweed, crossed here by a handsome bridge. The population of the town was, in 1851, 2238. In consequence of its proximity to England, Coldstream, like Gretas Green, is celebrated for its irregular marriages. General Monk resided in Coldstream during the winter of 1659-60, before he marched into England to restore Charles II., and here he raised a regiment now well known as the Coldstream Guards. On the bank of the Tweed, to the west of the town, is Lees, the beautiful seat of Sir John Marjoribanks, Bart., and on the north-west is Hirsel, the seat of the Earl of Home About a mile and a half to the east of the town are the ruins of Lennel Church, which was the name of the parish before Coldstream existed. Near it is Lennel House (Earl of Haddington), in which the renerable Patrick Brydone, author of “ Travels in Sicily and Malta," spent the latter years of bis long life. Following the course o! the river, we come to Tilmouth, where the Till, a narrow, sullen, deep, dark,

* There are two roads from Coldstream to Berwick, one along the north bank and one slong the south bank of the Tweed. The latter is the more interesting, and is generally preferrel

and slow stream, flowy into the Tweed. On its banks stands Twizel Castle (Sir Francis Blake, Bart.) Beneath the Castle the ancient bridge is still standing by which the English crossed the Till before the battle of Flodden.* The glen is romantic and delightful, with steep banks on each side, covered with copsewood. On the opposite bank of the Tweed is Milne-Graden (David Milne, E-q.), once the seat of the Kerrs of Graden, and, at an earlier period, the residence of the chief of a border clan, known by the name of Graden. A few miles eastward is Ladykirk, nine miles from Berwick. Near this is Ladykirk, the seat of D. Robertson, Esq. The church of this parish is an ancient Gothic building, said to have been erected by James IV., in consequence of a vow made to the Virgin, when he found himself in great danger while fording the Tweed in this neighbourhood. By this ford the English and Scottish armies made most of their mutual invasions. In the adjacent field, called Holywell Haugh, Edward I met the Scottish nobility, to settle the dispute between Bruce and Balliol, relative to the Scotch crown. On the opposite bank of the Tweed stands the celebrated castle of Norham. The description of this ancient fortress, in the poem of Marmion, is too well known to require quotation here. The extent of its ruins, as well as its historical importance, shows it to have been a place of magnificence as well as strength. In 1164, it was almost rebuilt by Hugh Pudsey, Bishop of Durham, who added a huge keep or donjon. After 1174 it seems to have been chiefly garrisoned by the King, and consider.d as a royal fortress. It was the residence of Edward I. when umpire on tbe claims of Bruce and Balliol to the Scottish throne. It was repeatedly taken and retaken during the wars between England and Scotland. The ruins of the castle are at present considerable as well as picturesque. They consist of a large shattered tower, with many vaults and fragments of other edifices enclosed within an outward wall of great circuit.

- "they crossed The Till, by Twisel Bridge. High sight it is, and haughty, while They dive into the deep defile; Beneath the cavern'd cliff they fall, Beneath the castle's airy wall.

By rock, by oak, by hawthorn tree, Troop after troop are disappearing; Troop after troop their banners rearing,

Upon the eastern bank you see,

Still pouring down the rocky den,

Where flows the sullen Tin,
And, rising from the dim wood glen
Standards on standards, men on mez,

In slow succession still,
And sweeping o'er the Gothic arch,
and pressing on in ceaseless march,

To gain the opposing hill.”

Marmion, c. vi.

[blocks in formation]

CXXXVII. LONDON TO SEDBERGH, BY BOROUGHBRIDGE, LEYBURN, AND

ASKRIGG, 2661 Miles.

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
[graphic]

AND BISHOP AUCKLAND, 258] Miles.

ON RIGHT FROM LOND.

From
Durham.

From
London.

ON LEFT FROY LOND.

239

From Hicks's Hall to To Darlington, 8 miles. 26 Scotch Corner, (p. 371.) 2324 To Barnard Castle, 15

miles. Middleton Lodge, and

Aske Hall (Ear beyond, Halnaby Hall.

cross river Tees, and Zetland) 1 m. Sir J. R. Milbanke, Bart.

enter Durham.

Stanwick Park, D. OP Northumberland, 3 m. Carlton Hall and Forcett

Park. To Darlington, 6 miles.

Pierse Bridge.

To Barnard Castle, 10 2m.dist, Walworth Castle.

miles. Redworth House, R.

Cliffe Hall. Surtees, Esq.

West Auckland. 2454 To Wolsingbam, Brusselton Tower, a

m.; to Jedburgh by Witpleasure - house, com

ton-le-Wear, 767 miles. manding delightfulviews. 10 BISHOP AUCKLAND. 2481 Auckland Castle, Bishop!

of Durham, and, in the Howlish Hall, and at

distance, Witton Castle, Westerton a circular

Sir W. R. C. Chaytor, tower, erected as an ob7 miles farther join the road

Bart. servatory.

from Darlington to Durham,

(p. 386-87.) Croxdale Hall G. Sal. 39 Sunderland Bridge. 255 | 2 miles distant. Whitvin, Esq.

worth Pa., R. D. Shaito, Windlestone Hall, Sir

Esq., and near it BranceWilliam Eden, Bart.

peth Castle, Viscount cr. the river Wear. Boyne.

Burn Hall.

Oswald House.
DURHAV! (see p. 389). 12587

OR

101

From Hicks's Hall to
197|Pierse Bridge as above, 239
141

Heighington.

Eldon.
Merrington

Fron Merriagtot.

church there is a very 22 miles farther join the road

extensive and beautifu. to Durham through Bishop

prospect.
Auckland.
31 Sunderland Bridge. 255

cross river Wear.

| DURHAM, (see p. 399). 2587 Ten miles from Pierse Bridge is BARNARD CASTLE on the Rirer Tees. The name of this town was derived from a castle which was erected here shortly after the Norman Conquest by Barnard, son of Guy Balliol, who came into England with the Conqueror. The extensive ruins of this fortress are situated on the summit of a rocky eminence, and include within their area a circumference of upwards of six acres. Balliol's Tower, at the western extremity of the building, is a round tower of great size and antiquity, and remarkable for the curious construction

« AnteriorContinua »