Imatges de pàgina


1 From


| From




York Railway
To Selby, 9 miles.

Leeds, Selby, and Hull

Peckfield Turnpike.

Kippax Park, T.




Ledstone Hall, and Kippax Park, T.D. Bland,

16 Leeds, 94 miles. Micklefield.

ABERFORD, 182) To Leeds, 10 miles. Ja small town, with the ruins

Near Abertord, Par. of an ancient castle, said to lington Ho, late R. O. bave been built soon after Gascoigne, Esq. A little the Conquest. The town

farther, Becca Hall, W. stands on a limestone rock of Markham, Esq.; and inconsiderable elevation, and

near it Potterton Lodge. consists chiefly of one long straggling street. Pop. 1071.

Huddleston Hall.

90 | Lotherton Hall.

To Tadcaster, 44 miles.

Haslewood Hall, Sir Edwd. Vavasour, Bart. This seat has belonged to the ancestors of the present proprietor since the time of William the Conqueror, with the exception of a short period during the reignof Henry III., when it was pledged to a Jew for £350. It is famous for the extent and richness of its prospects. The chapel con- 83 tains a number of monuments in memory of different individuals of the family.

Wetherby Grange.

The country surrounding Wetherby is pleasingly diversified.

2} miles farther, to Tadcas-

ter, 4 miles.
cr. river Wharfe.

a small town on the Wharfe,
over which there is a hand-
some bridge. Above the
bridge is a cascade.

To York, 18 miles.

Pramham Biggin, Lord Headley; Bramham Ho. and Lodge; Bramham Park (G. L. Fox, Esq.)

erected in the early part 186 of last century by Lord

Bingley | About 6 miles distant is Harewood House, the splendid seat of the Earl of Harewood.

To Harrowgate, 190

Knaresborough by Spofforth, 8 m.

A little below Wetherby is St. Helen's ford, where the Roman military way crossed the Wharfe.

1 mile from Wetherby, Linton Spring,

Stockeld Park, P. Middleton, Esq.

Ribston Hall, (Sir F. L. 1931h. Goodricke, Bart.) in

the gardens of which the famous apple was first cultivated. Here may be seen a monument to the standard bearer of the ninth Roman legion, which was discovered at York in the 17th century. To Knaresborough, 4m.

About half a mile dist. are three immense stones called the Arrotos, generally supposed to have been erected by the Ro. mans.

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]


North Otterington. 2171

| To Scorton, 97 miles;
has a Gothic church, a spaci. Richmond, 141, Bedale,
ons market-place, and a pri 7t; Leyburn, 30 miles.
son on Howard's plan. Near
this town was fought in 1138,
the celebrated battle of the Hutton Bonville Han.
Standard, in which David
King of Scotland was defeat-
ed. The spot still bears the
name of Standard Hill. One

M.P. Pop. 1861, 4995. | 422

Great Smeaton,
Hornby Grange.

remarkable for the beauty of
the surrounding scenery, and
for the extensive prospects
which it commands.


To Richmond, 9 m. Croft Hall, Sir W. R. 1 has a much frequented mine

Barnard Castle, 18 m. C. Chapter, Bart.

ral spring. And 2 m. dist. Neasham Hall.

cr. river Tees and

enter Durham. A cr. river Skerne. 33 | DARLINGTON, (p. 389.) 2367) Biackwell Grange, (W.

Five miles from Darlington Allan, Esq.) containing is Dinsdale or Middleton Spa, a very extensive museum with a good hotel. One mile of natural history. distunt is Grange Hall.

To Barnard Castle, 16 To Yarm, 10 m., Stockton, 14 miles.

Bishop Aukland, 19 m. Coatham Hall.

Catterick Bridge, 121 Ketton House, Rev. 272

Aycliffe. 242 Sir C. Hardinge, Bart. 24 Rushy Ford.

Windlestone Hall, Sir W. Eden, Bart., and be

yond, Auckland Castle Great Chilton.

(Bishop of Durharu).





2 Newcas.

Croxdale Hall, G. Sal-191

Butcher Race. 2504 [vin, Esq. 189 Sunderland Bridge. 251

9 m. dist. Whitworth Pa., A cr, river Wear.

R. D. Shafto, Esg, and near 3 m. distant, Sherburn

it, Brancepeth Castle, Hon. Hall, and

G. J. J. Hamilton Russell.

Burn Hall.
1 mile beyond, Durham, 14} DURHAM (p. 389.) 2557 Oswald House.
Aycliffe Heads, Ruins of
Finchale Abbey.

cr. river Wear. Lumley Castle, Earl 81 CHESTER-LE-STREET.

26131 of Scarborough, and

(See p. 391.) Lambton Castle, Earl of


2621 Durham.


2647 Usworth House.

Ayton Bank. 2654 2 m, distant Navensworth

Castle, Lord Ravensworth. To Sunderland over


1 m. distant Red Heugh, the Iron Bridge 109 m. Pop. 1851, 25,568. See p. 394. and

5 m. distant Axwell Pa., cr. river Tyne and

Sir T. Clavering. Bart enter Northumberland. Heaton House and NEWCASTLE-UPON- 2091 Elswick Hall, J. H. Benton House.

TYNE (p. 391.)

Hinde, Esq.

[ocr errors]

AMWELL, on a branch of the river Lea, is said to have derived its name from mma's Well, a spring near the church. In a small island formed by the stream a monument to the memory of Sir Hugh Myddleton, who achieved the task of Inveying the New River water to London. Izaak Walton lived at Amwell.

Ware, a market-town on the Lea, with a considerable trade in malt and corn. he church of St Mary contains many curious monuments, and in the churchyard the tomb of Dr Mead, who died (1652) aged (it is alleged) 148 years. At the iracen's Head Inn may be seen the great bed of Ware, 12 feet square, which is correctly said to have been the state bed of Edward IV. Pop. 1851, 4882.

HUNTINGDON is situated on the north bank of the Ouse. It stands on the 'min Street ; and there was a Roman station, the Durolipons of Antoninus, on the e, either of the town, or its suburb, Godmanchester. In the year 917, Edward e Elder built a castle here, of the outworks of which, traces yet remain. In the il war the royal troops entered Huntingdon after a short resistance, and plunred it. Before the Reformation, Huntingdon contained fifteen churches, of ich but two remain. It contains also several chapels and meeting-houses, a town1, and assembly-rooms, a county gaol, a small theatre, and a race course, a free immar school, and many other schools of various kinds. Godmanchester also tains numerous schools. The trade of the town is principally in wool, corn, and It, and it has several breweries and manufactories. Oliver Cromwell was a ive of Huntingdon. 1 m. distant is Hinchinbroke House (Earl of Sandwich) nerly the property of the Cromwell family. The great room in which Queen zabeth and James I. were entertained is still preserved. The mansion occupies site of a Benedictine nunnery. Beyond it is Brampton Park, the seat of the se of Manchester. Huntingdon is connected by railwaya with all parts of the dom. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 6219.

STANFORD is a town of great antiquity, and had fourteen parish churches, only five of which now remain. That of St Martin contains several monuments of the Cecil family. The great Lord Burghley was interred here. Stamford contains also several chapels, a town-hall, assembly rooms, a theatre, free grammar, bluecoat, and national schools, several charitable institutions, &c. Its principal trade is in malt, coal, and freestone. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 8933.

Close by Stamford is Burghley House, (Marquis of Exeter,) a magnificeat mansion, erected by Lord Treasurer Burghley, on the site of a very ancient fabric, and situated in a noble park. It contains a hall supported by 12 columns of Scagliola marble, a grand staircase, painted by Stothard, two libraries, containing many curious MSS., a very valuable collection of pictures, a splendid state bed, &c. The approach from Stamford is through an avenue of oaks of the markable size.

GRANTHAM is situated on the Roman Ermine Street and Witham. St Walfan's church is a spacious structure, and has a spire 273 feet high. It contains a curious font and several monuments. Grantham formerly possessed several religious houses, some remains of which still exist. In the free grammar school here, Sir Isaac Newton received part of his education. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 10,878.

Three miles distant is Belton House (Earl Brownlow), designed by Wren and adorned by Gibbons, contains many family portraits and other paintings. Be yond Belton is Syston Park, Sir J. C. Thorold, Bart. Five miles distant is Belvoir Castle, the magnificent mansion of the Duke of Rutland, occupying the summit of a hill. Belvoir was destroyed by fire in 1816, but it has since bees rebuilt on a magnificent scale. It contains one of the best collections of picture in the kingdom. The castle was originally founded by Robert de Todeni. It commands a prospect of remarkable extent and beauty. To Folkingham, 13 miles; to Donington, 194 miles. To Melton Mowbray, 16 miles; to Bingham, 14 miles.

NEWARK is situated on a branch of the Trent. Here are the ruins of a castle in which King John died, A D. 1216. The church of St Mary Magdalene is one of the largest and most elegant in the kingdom. It was in great part rebuilt in the time of Henry VI. The interior has some good wood screen-work and stained glass, with various brasses and other ancient monuments. It has lately undergone repairs, and will well repay a visit. Here are also a new church, a handsome town-hall, a free grammar school, several meeting-houses, and charitable institutions. The principal trade of Newark is in corn, malt, and cattle, Lightfoot and Bishop Warburton were natives of Newark. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 11,330. It is connected by railway with all parts of the kingdom, and gives the title of viscount to Earl Manvers. In the civil wars, Newark zealously supported the King, and was incorporated by Charles II. on account of its loyalty to his father. Near Newark is the Beacon Hill, which was the scene of an action between the Royalists under Prince Rupert, and the Parliamentary forces under Sir J. Meldrum. Between Newark and Southwell, 8 m. distant, is the beld where Charles I. currendered himself to the Scotch commissioners.

EAST RETFORD, on the Idle, carries on a considerable trade, particularly in hops, and has manufactories of paper, sailcloth, &c. It has two churches, besides chapels, a free grammar school, and an hospital. East Retford, with the Hundred of Basset Law, returns two M.P. Pop. of Parl. borough, 1851, 46,054.

DoxCASTER, on the Don, is one of the cleanest and most beautiful towns in the kingdom. It was the Danum of Antoninus, and was called Dona Ceastre by the Saxons, from which its present name is derived. The town stands on the Watw ling Street of the Romans, and coins, urns, and other Roman remains, are occasionally dug up in the neighbourhood. Doncaster has a few iron foundries, and possesses one of the largest corn markets in the kingdom. The public buildings most worthy of notice are the mansion-house, a handsome structure, which cost about £10,000;-St. George's Church, a spacious and elegant structure, with a fine tower, and painted east window; Christ Church, the town hall, gaol, theatre, race-stand, &c. Here are also several chapels and meeting houses, numerous educational establishments, and public charities. The famous races at Doncaster are held in the third week of September. Potteric Car, on the south of the town, was a morass of many miles in extent till the year 1766. It is now completely drained, and yields luxuriant crops. Pop. 1851, 12,052.

DARLINGTON is situated on the Skerne, over which is a bridge of three arches. St. Cuthbert's church, built by the celebrated Hugh de Pudsey, is of the 12th century, and cruciform, with a lofty spire; and the town has places of worship for Methodists, and other Protestant Dissenters, and for Roman Catholics. Darlington carries on a considerable trade. The chief occupations of the inhabitants are combing wool, spinning flax, grinding optical glasses, and founding iron. Pop. 1851, 11,228. Darlington is remarkable for the extent of its. Quaker population. It gives title of Earl to the Duke of Cleveland.

DURHAM, a city of great antiquity, stands on a remarkable eminence nearly surrounded by the river Wear. There does not appear to have been any town where Durham now stands till about the end of the tenth century, when the monks of Lindisfarne rested there with the remains of St Cuthbert. Soon after a church was built by Bishop Aldune, and dedicated to St Cuthbert, whose remains were removed and enshrined in it. Durham suffered severely from the cruelties of William the Conqueror, who repeatedly laid waste the surrounding country with fire and sword. In 1072, a strong castle was built here; and the bishop assumed the title of Count Palatine. In 1093, the old church built by Aldune was pulled down, and the present magnificent edifice begun by William de Carilepho the bishop, and Turgot the prior. Durham has figured conspicuously in all the great transactions that have agitated the north. It suffered often from the invasions of the Scots; and was frequently the head quarters of Edward III. and of other monarchs and commanders on their excursions against Scotland. Durham was deeply indebted to Bishop Hugh Pudsey (Earl of Northumberland) who was appointed to the bishopric in 1153. To him it owce

« AnteriorContinua »