« AnteriorContinua »
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FRON LOXD.
601 Smallways. 2401 Barningham, M. M581 Greta Bridge.
banke, Esq. Rokeby Park, late J.
cr. branch of the B. S. Morritt, Esq., the
Tees. friend of Sir Walter Scott.
Beyond Greta Bridge is a fine view of the town 527
248) of Barnard Castle; 3 m. was a Roman station, and has beyond is Streatlam vestiges of a castle. Castle, J. Bowes, Esq.; 47 Spittal House.
2531 and in the distance,
2545 Raby Castle, Duke of 467
Enter Westmorland. Cleveland. 391 BROUGH.
2613 29 Crackenthorpe. 2711
264 Kirkby Thore. Newbiggin Hall, w. 241 Temple Sowerby.
276 Crackenthorpe, Esq.
cr. the river Eden.
Brougham Hall, Lord
Brougham, and beyond, Skirsgill.
Lowther Castle, Earl of cr. river Emont, and
Lonsdale. enter Cumberland, 3 m.distant Eden Hall, 187 PENRITH.
In the distance Sir G. Musgrave, Bart.
Greystoke Park, H Corby Castle, P. H.
CARLISLE. 3001 Howard, Esq. | Howard, Esq.
HATFIELD, remarkable for the adjacent mansion, called Hatfield House (Marquis of Salisbury), erected at the commencement of the seventeenth century. The old house was the residence of Prince Edward, afterwards Edward VI., immediately before his accession. Queen Elizabeth lived here as a sort of prisoner during the latter part of the reign of her sister Mary. Hatfield was, soon after the accession of James I., made over, in exchange for Theobalds, to Sir R. Cecil, afterwards Earl of Salisbury, youngest son of the Lord-Treasurer Burghles, in whose family it has ever since continued. The gateway and end of the old palace are still standing. The present building was erected by Sir R. Cecil. In Norenber 1835, the left wing was destroyed by fire, on which occasion the Dowager Marchioness of Salisbury perished in the flames. The grounds are beautifally laid out. Charles I. was a prisoner at Hatfield. Pop. of par. 1851, 3862.
BROUGH, situated in the wild district of Stainmoor. It is supposed to occupy the site of the Verteræ of the Romans. Here are the ruins of a castle which was erected before the Conquest. The church is a spacious ancient fabric, and the pulpit is formed out of a single stone. To the east of the town is a pillar wbich denotes the boundary of Yorkshire and Cumberland. Pop. of par. 1851, 1638.
About eight miles farther on is APPLEBY, the county town of Westmorland, situated on the Eden. It was a place of some importance before the Conquesta but in the reign of Henry II. it was utterly destroyed by the Scots. In the time of Richard II. it met with a similar fate, and the greater part of it still lay in ruins in the time of Queen Mary. The castle stands on a lofty height rising from the river. It was founded previous to the Norman Conquest, but was almost rebuilt in 1686 by the then Earl of Thanet. It is now the property of Sir R. Tufton, Bart. It contains a large collection of curious and valuable family portraits, some valuable MSS., and among other relics, the magnificent suit of armour worn in the tiltyard by George Clifford, Earl of Cumberland, as champion lo Queen Elizabeth. This castle anciently belonged to the Clifford family, and was fortified for King Charles by Lady Anne Clifford, Countess of Dorset, Pembroke, and Montgomery, but it was forced to surrender after the battle of Marston Moor. The church contains the monuments of Margaret, Countess of Cumberland, and of the celebrated Lady Anne, Countess of Dorset, Pembroke, &c., her daughter. Appleby formerly sent two M.P., but was disfranchised by the Reform Bill. Pop. of borough and township, 1851, 883.
CXXXII. LONDON TO THIRSK, THROUGH LOUGHBOROUGH, NOTTINGHAM,
CHESTERFIELD, SHEFFIELD, BARNSLEY, LEEDS, WAKEFIELD, AND
OX RIGHT FROX LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
From Hicks's Hall to
145 Midland Railway.
Hasland. Sutton Hall.
149 Hasland House, and,
two miles distant, Win
gerworth Hall. To Worksop, 15 miles. 851 CHESTERFIELD. 150%!
(See p. 353.)
To Tideswell, 16 miles
- Blakewell, 13 - WinOn Whittington Moor
ster, 12-Matlock, 94 was a public-house called 834 Whittington Common. 1514 to the Baths, 104. the Revolution House, from its having been the place where the Earl of Danby, the Earl of De
1551 vonshire, and others as. sernbled to concert mea
The church has a fine tower sures for effecting the
and spire. The chancel conRevolution of 1688.
tains three rich stone stalls, the foliage of which is very beautiful.
Beauchieff Abbey, 774 Norton Hall.
founded in 1163 for White
15721 75 Scr. the river Sheaf, 1601 Canons, by Robert Fitz
Ranulph, said to have and enter Yorkshire, Ibeen one of the murder-)
ON BIGIT FROY LOND.
ON LEIT FROY LOSD.
era of Thomas à Becket,
in expiation of whose 731 SHEFFIELD, (p. 376.) 1627 purder the abbey Fas
built. To Worksop, 192 miles. Scross the river Don. 721
To Huddersfield,267. Pitsmoor.
1631 The Grange, Earl of 671
1684 Chapel Town.
3 miles distant, WortEffingham; and Went
ley Hall, Lord Whardworth House, Earl Fitz
654 Hood Hill. 1693 Tankersley.
1731 Worsborough Hall, W.
B. Martin, Esq.
W. Elmhirst, Esq.; and 594 BARNSLEY (see p. 354.) 1751 Wentworth Castle, F.T. To Doncaster, 15 miles. 59
T. V. Wentworth, Esq. Old Mill Inn. |1761
To Stockport, 23 miles.
Canal and river Dearne.
Woolley Park, G.
3 miles distant, BretChevet, Sir L. M. Pil- 524 New Miller Dam.
ton Hall, W. B. Bean1823
mont, Esq. kington, Bart.
Pledwick KettleWood thorpe. 511 Sandal Magna.
Lupset Hall, D. Gaskell, Esq.
Thornes House, J. M.
To Huddersfield, 18 Newland Park, Sir C.
m.; to Halifax, 16 miles Dodsworth, Bart. Hatfield Ha. 481 Newton.
1871 Methley Hall, Earl of Mexborough. 451 Lofthouse.
190 Lofthouse Hall.
Scross river Aire. To Halifar by BradTo Selby, 207 miles;
ford, 18 m.; to Otley, 10 to Tadcaster, 14 miles, 401 3 miles distant, Temple
LEEDS, (p. 356.) 1957. 24 miles distant, Arm Newsam, containing an
Potter Newton Hall excellent collection of paintings.
371 Chapel Allerton. 198
Moor Allerton. 1997
35 Alwoodley Gates. 2009 To Otley, 8 miles: To Tudcaster, 11 miles. 32 Harewood.
Harewood House, Earl The church is a venerable of Harewood, & nobile structure, and containing, mansion, with garders amongst other tombs, that And pleasure grounds of Judge Gascoigne, who laid out by the celebrated committed Henry v. when Capability Brown Prince of Wales, to prison, for insulting him whilst ad-1
ON LIGHT RON LOND.
OX LEFT FROM LOND.
ministering justice. Here
cross river Wharf.
307 Dunkeswick. 2057 Rigton. Rudding Park, Sir J. 271 Spacey House.
208) Radcliffe, Bai
241 HARROWGATE (p. 377.) 213 Bilton Park, and be211 Killinghall
213 Pannal. yond, Scriven Park, Sir
cr. river Nidd. C. Slingsby, Bart.
Nidd Hall, J. Rawson, 203 RIPLEY, 215 To Pateley Bridge, Esq.
a small town, which was 97 miles.
tal of an ancient cross. Newby Hall, Earl De 18
South Stainley. 2171 Studley Royal, Earl De 121 RIPON (p. 378.) 222 Grey, and beyond, Grant
cr. the river Ure. ley Hall, Lord Grantley. 81 The Leeming Road. 227
Norton Conyers, Sir B. Newby Park
R. Graham, Bart. 5} Skipton Bridge. 230
a cr. river Swale.
Bushby Stoop. 2317
21 Carlton Miniott. 233 Thirk.eby Hill, 3 m.
THIRSK (p. 380.) At a short distance from Glapwell (p. 373) on the left, is Hardwick Hall (Duke of Devonshire,)a most interesting specimen of the Elizabethan style of domestic architecture. It stands on the brow of a bold and commanding eminence, overlooking a vale of great beauty. This fine old mansion was erected by the celebrated Countess of Shrewsbury, daughter of John Hardwick of Hardwick, and heiress of this estate. She married four times, always contriving to get the power over her husband's estates by direct devise, or by intermarrying the children of their former marriages, so that she brought together immense estates, and laid the foundation of four dukedoms. Her first husband was Sir William Cavendish, the secretary and biographer of Wolsey, her last the Earl of Shrewsbury, to whose custody Mary Queen of Scots was consigned.* The most remarkable apartments in this interesting edifice are the state-room and the gallery. At one end of the former is a canopy of state, and in another part a bed, the hangings of which are very ancient. The gallery, which is about 170 feet long, and 26 wide, extends the whole length of the eastern side of the house, and is hung with tapestry, on a part of which is the date of 1478. In the chapel there is a very rich and curious altar cloth, 30 feet long, hung rund the rails of the altar, with figures of saints under canopics wrought in needle-work. The house has, with very few exceptions, been kept exactly in the
·llowirt's Rural Life in England, 2d edit. p. 257-267.
state in which its builder left it as to furniture and arrangement. The late Dute of Devonshire brought hither his family pictures from Chatsworth There are nearly 200 portraits in this gallery, the most interesting being those of " Bess of Hardwick,” Queen Elizabeth, Mary Queen of Scots, Lady Jane Grey, Cardinal Pole, Bishop Gardiner, Sir Thomas More, Sir William Cavendish, William, first Duke of Devonshire, Hobbes the philosopher, &c. The furniture is in many instances older than the house, and was removed from the old hall. Some of the needle-work was wrought by Mary Queen of Scots, and in the entrance hall there is a statue of her by Westmacott.
At about 100 yards from the hall stand the remains of the old baronial resis dence where Queen Mary and Arabella Stuart were confined. In the reign of Henry VII. it was the residence of the Hardwick family, but the whole pile is now but a splendid ruin luxuriantly mantled with ivy.
Hardwick is in the parish of Ault Hucknall, and Hobbes the philosopher is buried in the church. About four miles to the west is the Tupton station of the North Midland Railway.
SHEFFIELD is situated near the confluence of the Don and the Sheaf, at the eastern foot of that extensive range of hills which runs along the centre of the island from Staffordshire to Westmorland. With the exception of a single outlet towards Doncaster, it is encompassed and overlooked by an amphitheatre of hills, and the neighbourhood presents a remarkable variety and beauty d prospect. Hallamshire, which includes the parish of Sheffield, and the adjoin ing parishes of Handsworth and Ecclesfield, forms a district, the origin of which may be traced back to Saxon, Roman, and even British times, but the town of Sheffield has more recently risen into importance. In the reign of Henry I. the munor of Sheffield belonged to the family of De Lovetot, who founded an hos pital called St Leonards, established a corn-mill, and erected a bridge over the river Don ; and the manor afterwards successively descended by marriage to the Furnivals, Talbots, and ultimately to the Howards, in whose possession it still remains Mary Queen of Scots spent nearly fourteen years of her iinprisonment in Shet field manor-house, which stood on an eminence, a little distance from the town, and was dismantled in 1706 by the order of Thomas, Duke of Norfolk. A or tle was erected at Sheffield at a very early period. During the civil wars, Sir John Gell took possession of the castle and town for the parliament ; but on the approach of the Marquis of Newcastle, he retreated into Derbyshire. Sheffield Castle continued in the possession of the Royalists till after the battle of Mars ton Moor, when it was obliged to capitulate after a siege of some days. It was then demolished by order of the parliament, and no vestiges of it now remain.
So early as the thirteenth century, Sheffield had acquired a reputation for iron manufactures, especially for a kind of knives called "whittles.". The great abundance of iron-ore, stone, and coal which are found in the vicinity might natarally have been expected to give rise to such manufactures, and the several mountain streams which unite near the town furnish an extent of water-power