« AnteriorContinua »
JON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
Menai Suspension Bridge
Three miles after (see p. 182).
Bangor, cross Menai
Strait by 2401
BRITANNIA TUBU. Beaumaris, 41 miles.
The island of Anglesey
is rich in mineral produce. Beaumaris, the county town 21 and reach Llanfair Se 242
The copper mines in the ot Angleses, is pleasantly situ
Parys mountain (situated ated on the Menai Strait A castle was erected here about Thence, through the
near Amlwch, on the N. the close of the thirteenth cen
coast of the island), which tary, by Edward L, the remains
Isle of Anglesey, by
were discovered in 1768, of whleb are included within Gaerwen, Bodorgan,
produced at one time as the domains of Sir R. B. W.
much as 3000 tons of meBalkeley Bart. Beaumaristo and Tycroes Stations, much resorted to during the
tal annually, but they taminer months, and has on
have now greatly declinlate been much improved. IL
ed. Lead ore and asbeswas once surrounded with
tos have also been found, walls, which in some places
and coal is worked. are still entire. The town-hall - an elegant modern building. At a short distance is Anglesey was formerly The church contains a curious Penrhos, & seat of Lord a principal seat of Druidimonument, and in the vestry! Stanley of Alderley,
cal superstition, and conwere deposited the remains of
tained sacred groves, Lady Beatrix Herbert, daugh
which were cut down by ter of the celebrated Lord Her
the Romans under Suetobers of Cherbury. In the Holyhead is a place of neighbourhood of Beaumaris is
nius Paulinus, A. D. 61. very remote antiquity, Baron Hill, tbe sent of Sir R.
It was subjugated with B. W. Balkeley, Bart., comand appears, from the ves
the rest of Wales, by Edmanding beautiful prospects : tiges of military works
ward I., and made a counAnd about 4 miles from the still to be seen, to have
ty by Henry VIII. town are the remains of Pen been an important Roman mon Priory, consisting of the station. The principal refectory, the dormitory, and
tradeof this port consistsin the church. Beaumaris unites with Amlwch, Holyhead, and
the importation of agriculLlangefni, in returning I M.P.
tural produce from IrePop. 1851, 2390.
land; and the town is great
ly increased and improved in consequence of its being the most convenient place of embarkation for Dublin. Steam-packets leave Holyhead for that city thrice daily, in connection with the express and mail trains which leave London at 9-30 A.M., 5 P.M., and 8-45 P.M., and which arrive at Holyhead at 5-15 P.M., 12-35 A.m., and 5-45 A.M. The distance to Kingstown is about 60 miles, and the voyage is performed in 41 hours, the packets arriving at Kingstown at 10 P.M., 6-30 A.M., and 11 A.M. respectively; the whole distance between London and the Irish metropolis being thus accomplished in less than 14 hours. Communication is besides constantly kept up by submarine electric telegraph between the sister kingdoms. A religious house is said to have been erected at Holyhead in the latter part of the sixth century; but the house for canons regular, called the College, appears to have been founded about 1137. The church, which is a handsome building, was erected about the time of Edward III. Holyhead contains also an assembly room, baths, a light-house, an extensive harbour, and a pier. The promontory of the head is an immense precipice, hollowed by the ocean into magnificent caverns, affording shelter to falcons and sea-fowls. In the neighbourhood a harbour of refuge on a great scale, is in the course of formation. Pop. 1851, 5622.
* See account of it, p. 250.
Conwar, or Aber-Conway, was formerly surrounded by high and masire walls, strengthened by twenty-four towers, which, with four gateways, still re main in tolerable preservation. The principal object is the remains of the magnificent castle erected by Edward I. It is seated on a rock, washed on two sides by the Conway, and is of an oblong form, flanked by eight embattled towers. During the civil wars it was garrisoned for the King, but was taken by the Parliamentary army. It remained entire, however, till it was granted by Charles II. to the Earl of Conway, who dismantled it for the sake of the timber, iron, lead, &c. It is now the property of the Marquis of Hertford, to whom it gives the title of Baron Conway. Over the river is a fine suspension bridge, erected from designs by Telford. The church contains several monuments of the Wynne family. In Castle Street is a very old structure, called the College, inhabited at present by a few poor families. Near the market-place is a very large antique building, erected in 1585, by Robert Wynne, Esq. of Gwydır It is now the property of Lord Mostyn. Aberconway unites with Caernarvon. Bangor, Nevin, Pwllheli, and Criccieth, in returning one M.P. Pop. of bor. 1851, 2105.
The railway between Chester and Holyhead is rendered proeminently remarkable by those stupendous and wonderful triumphs of modern engineering, the Conway and Britannia tubu lar bridges, by which the line is respectively carried across the estuary formed by the mouth of the river Conway, and across the Menai Strait. These hollow rectangular tubes, sustained in their position by no other power than that which they derive from the strength of their ma. terials, and the manner in which these are combined, consist of plates of wrought iron from
to 1 of an inch in thickness, firmly rivetted together, so as to form a single and continuous structure,-one tube (or connected series of tubes) serving for the passage of the up, and the other of the down, trains. To attempt any description of these great works would be out of place here: but the following particulars with reference to the larger structure, that which crosses the Menai Strait, will not be uninteresting. In this, the Britannia Bridge, the total length of cach line of tube (regarded as a whole) is 1813 feet, which is made up by the union of four separate lengths of tube two of longer, and two of shorter, dimensions. The two main lengths of tube, each measuring 472 feet, pass from the towers constructed respectively at high water mark on the Caernarvon and Anglesey shores, to the Britannia tower, structure of solid masonry, raised in the middle of the strait to the height of 210 feet, and based on a little rock formerly covered at high water. The shorter portions of tube connect the land-towers on either side with the abutments which terminate the embankments upon which the line of railway is carried, and by which the shores of the strait are approached. The total weight of
, in its entire length,) is nearly 5000 tons, and the whole struc ture is elevated to a height of 100 feet above the level of the water, so as to admit of the unimpeded passage of large vessels beneath it. In the construction of the tubes and towers as many as 1300 workmen were employed. The tubes were formed on the ground, upon the Caernarvon shore, and afterwards floated by means of pontoons, and subsequently raised to the required elevation by the use of powerful hydraulic presses. The Conway bridge, the construction of which preceded that of the larger structure, but which is similar in principle, consists of only one span of 400 feet, from shore to shore, and two abutments of masonry. la height above the level of the water is only 18 feet. The tubes of which it is composed (encta weighing 1300 tons) were built on the adjacent shore, and thence floated and raised in the same manner as described in reference to the Britannia Bridge.
1957 Winstanley Hall, M.
7 m. distant is Lathom House (Lord Skelmersdale), occupying the site
of the ancient house, 1987
which, under the com
mand of the heroic Coun2004 tess of Derby, success
fully resisted the Parliamentary forces during a
siege of 3 months. 2041 Euxton Hall, W. J.
Shaw Hall, containing a museum of natural history, and some curious frescoes brought from Herculaneum.
Cuerdon Hall, R. 9211 Farrington Gate. 208 Penwortham Priory, Townley Parker, Esq.
L. Rawstone, E.sq.
Branch to Fleetwood, 901 PRESTON (see p. 254). 2107 20 miles.
Ashton Lodge, J. PedBarton Lodge. 854 Broughton St. 5 der, Esq.
Myerscough Hall. Brock St.
Myerscough House, Clanghton Hall, T. F.
Kirkland Hall (Brockholes, Esq.
* See Introduction to Scott's “ Betrothed," pp. 8-10.