« AnteriorContinua »
2N RIGHT FROM LOXD.
ON LEFT FROM LOXD.
Honnington Hall, the 31} Tredit ton.
85 Rev. H. Townsend.
Lower Eatington Hall, 291 Newbuld. 87 E. J. Shirley, Esq.
cr. river Stour.
89 Alveston House, Sir
Alscot Park, J. E.
West, Esq. T. G. Skipwith, Bart.
Alveston Villa, and Re-enter Warwicksh. beyond Charlecote
cr. river Avon. House, G. Lucy, Esq.
223 STRATFORD ON AVON. 94 Stratford on Avon, celebrated as the birth-place of Shakspeare. The house in which he was born is situated in Henley Street. It has lately been purchased by subscription, and will be carefully preserved for the inspection of future generations. The approach to the church, which is delightfully situated on the banks of the Avon, is by an avenue of lime-trees. In the chancel is the celebrated bust of the poet, in front of which he and his wife are buried. The town-hall in High Street was erected in 1769, at the time of the jubilee. A good statue of Shakspeare stands at the north end of the building. The interior is adorned with portraits of Shakspeare, Garrick, and the Duke of Dorset. In the High Street also are the remains of an ancient cross, and adjoining them is the guildhall, a portion of which is occupied as a grammar school, where it is said Shakspeare received his education. When completed, the Oxford, Worcester, and Wolverhampton line, will connect Stratford with all parts of the kingdom. Pop. cf township, 1851, 3372.
Clopton House, and beyond, Welcombe Lodge.
HENLEY-IN-ARDEN. 1011 Beaudesert House, Wooton Hall, Sir C. F. In the market-place are and beyond Oldberrow Smythe, Bart. vestiges of an ancient
Court. Here was the ancient
Umberslade Parke forest of Arden.
10 Hockley House. 1064 To Warwick 10 miles. Packwood House.
cr, river Thame. BIRMINGHAM. 1164 Edgbaston (Lord Cal. (see p. 204.)
LXXXII. LONDON TO BIRMINGHAM BY AYLESBURY, BUCKINGHAM,
BANBURY, AND WARWICK, 1157 Miles.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROX LOND.
From Tybura Turnpike to
1141 Paddington. 14 m. Belsize House, M. orster, Esq., and beyond, 1124
Kilburn, Rosslyn House.
To Kensal Green. 24 Brandesbury House.
cr. river Brent. Hendon Place, (Lord Ten
At a distance, Wenbley Park.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
BUCKINGHAM, 554" To Banbury, 18 miles. Three miles distant is an ancient and irregular Five miles from BuckStowe, the magnificent built town on the Ouse. The lingham is Chetwode, in the seat of the Duke of Back- inhabitants are chiefly em. church of which is soine ingham, celebrated by the ployed in agriculture and fine stained glass, of great muse of Pope, and, unlace-making. The church is
antiquity. til lately, enriched by a
an clegant building, erected choice collection of valu
in 1780 on an artificial mount Chetwode, Priory, R. able works of art, includ
forinerly occupied by a cas- Branbridge, Esq. ing plate and furniture of
tle. The altar is adorned the most costly description
with a copy of Ranhael's a fine gallery of paintings, transfiguration, presented
Two miles from Buck a library of 10,000 vols., by an ancestor of the pre
fingham, on road to Stoney and an extensive collection
sent Duke of Buckingham. Stratford, the remains of of MSS. Owing to the The other pub'ic edifices are a Roman villa were disco pecuniary embarrassments the town-hall, new gaol, tree vered in 1837. of the noble owner, these grammar school, meetingwere all disposed of by| house, and the remains of public auction in 1848.
the chapel of St John and Morton House, Rev. W.
Thomas á Becket. This town Andrewes,
suffered greatly b. fire in Morton Lodge, H. Smith,
11725. It returns two M.P. Evenley Hall, Hon. P Esq. Pop. 1951, 8069.
S. Pierrepont. Biddlesdon Park, G. 55
Westbury. 601 To Oxtord, 209 miles. Morgan, Esq.
521 BRACKLEY (Northamp.) 62: To Towcester, 11 miles. is one of the oldest boroughsia
England, and still contains
greatness. It has a handsomo Parthinghoe.
market-house, two churehes, a
free school, and the ruins of an Thenford Hall, J. L.
hospital. said to have been Severne, Esq.
erected by the Zouche family
Broughton Castle, Lord To Warwick through 44
BANBURY (Oron.) 714 Save and Sele.
on the Cherwell is famous for Southamn, 22iniles. its malt liquor, its cheese, and
To Chipping Norton. the cakes which are called by 12 miles. its name. Here was formerly a
To Deddington, 6, n.
42 Drayton. 731)
741 Wroxton Abbey, Earl
Alkerton, where Lydiat the astronomer and may
thematician was buried. 351 Upton, (Warwicksh.) 784 Upton House, Captain
To Stratford on Avon,
791) Radway Grange, F. S.
first battle between Charles I. and the Parlia. ment was fuuget
To Stratford on Avon, 5 miles.
Compton Verney, Lord 29 Compton-Verney. 851| Walton Hall, Sir C. Willoughby De Broke.
Mordaunt, Bart. Scr. Roman Way. Newbold Park. 1 27 Wellesbourne Hastings. 874 Charlecote, G. Lucy,
Esq. and beyond, Alveston
House, Sir T. G. Skipwith, The Hill.
cr. river Avon. Warwick Castle, Earl of 2011 WARWICK.
Grove Park, Lord Dor'Warvick.
Warwick is situated nearly in the centre of the county. It stands on a rocky hill, having a somewhat abrupt acclivity, watered by the Avon. This town is believed to be of Saxon origin, and was formerly surrounded with walls. It has three churches, of which St Mary's is the most remarkable. It has a lofty square tower, supported by piers, between which carriages may pass. The interior is richly adorned, and contains a number of ancient and curious monuments. Beauchamp chapel, a beautiful specimen of the Gothic style, contains a monument to the memory of Richard Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, the founder of the Lady chapel. This chapel is considered the most splendid in the kingdom, with the exception of that of Henry VII., in Westminster Abbey. Here is also a monument to Dudley, Earl of Leicester, Elizabeth's favourite. The other public buildings are, the county hall, the court house, gaol, bridewell, theatre, market house, free grammar school, the county asylum, public library and news-room, and several meeting houses. The races are held twice a-year on a plain near the west end of the town. Warwick returns two M.P. Population, 1851, 10,973. Several manufactures are carried on here, particularly those of combing and spinning long wool.
Warwick Castle, the magnificent residence of the Earl of Warwick, is situated at the south-east end of the town, on a rock washed by the Avon. The date of its original erection is unknown. Cæsar's tower, the most ancient part of the structure, is 147 feet high. Guy's tower, 128 feet high, was erected in 1894. The approach to the grand front exhibits three stupendous towers, and the entrance is flanked with embattled walls covered with ivy. The interior is remarkable for splendour and elegance. The principal suite of apartments extends 333 feet in a straight line, and is adorned with valuable paintings and curious specimens of ancient armour. In the green-house is a beautiful antique vase, well known as the Warwick vase, found at Tivoli, and capable of containing 168 gallons. About a mile from Warwick is Guy's Cliff, the retreat of the famous Earl Guy, and where he and his
Countess are supposed to be interred. Blacklow hill, opposite, is the spot where Piers Gavaston was beheaded in 1312
Two miles from Warwick is LEAMINGTON, or LEAMINGTON PRIORS, one of the most fashionable spas in the kingdom. It is pleasantly situated on the Leam, which is crossed by a handsome bridge. The waters are used, both internally and for the purpose of bathing, and are found very efficacious in many chronie disorders, in diseases of the skin, and visceral obstructions. The principal buildings are the new pump-room and baths, which are supposed to be the most ele gant in Europe; the assembly-rooms, concert and ball-rooms, the reading-rooms and library, the billiard-room, the Regent Hotel, the museum and picture gal lery, the theatre, &c. The Ranelagh and Priory Gardens form delightful promenades. Leamington possesses also two churches, an Episcopal chapel, 6 meeting-house, a Roman Catholic chapel, an institution for the gratuitous supply of baths to the poor, national schools, several libraries, &c. The rides and walks in the vicinity are interesting and attractive; and very delightful excursions may be made to Warwick Castle, Kenilworth, Stratford, &c. Pop. 1851, 15,692.
KENILWORTH is five miles distant from Leamington, and about the same distance from Warwick and from Coventry. Its name is said to have been derived from Kenulph, a Saxon King of Mercia, and his son Kenelm. In Queen Elizabeth's time it was called Killingworth ; but the original and correct designation is now restored. The ruins of its magnificent castle form one of the most splendid and picturesque remains of castellated strength to be found in the kingdom. It was founded by Geoffrey de Clinton, Lord Chamberlain and Treasurer to Henry I., but it shortly passed to the Crown. Henry III. granted the castle to the famous Simon de Montfort, Earl of Leicester, and Eleanor his wife, for their respective lives; and when the Earl took up arms against the King, it was the great place of resort for the insurgent nobles. After the defeat and death of the Earl of Leicester, his eldest son, Simon de Montfort, continued to shelter himself in this fortress. He shortly afterwards withdrew to France, but his adherents held out the castle for six months against all the forces the King could bring against it, and they ultimately capitulated upon highly favourable terms. In the time of Fdward I. it was the scene of a splendid and costly tournament. Edward II. was kept a prisoner in this castle before his removal to Berkeley Castle, where he was ultimately murdered. In the reign of Edward III., Kenilworth passed into the possession of John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, who made large addiLions to it. When his son, Henry Bolingbroke, became King, it again became the property of the Crown, and so continued till the reign of Elizabeth, who conferred it on her favourite, Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester. This nobleman expended enormous sums in adorning and enlarging this structure. The following description of the appearance of the castle at this period is given by Sir Walter Scott in his novel of" Kenilworth :"_“The outer wall of this splendid and gigantic structure enclosed seven acres, a part of which was occupied by extensive stables, and by a pleasure-garden, with its trim arbours and par