« AnteriorContinua »
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
JON LEFT FROM LOND.
BUCKINGHAM, 554" To Banbury, 18 miles. Three miles distant is an ancient and irregular Five miles from BuckStowe, the magnificent built town on the Ouse. The lingham is Chet wode, in the seat of the Duke of Buck
inhabitants are chiefly em- church of which is some ingham, celebrated by the ployed in agriculture and fine stained glass, of great muse of Pope, and, unlace-making. The church is
antiquity. til lately, enriched by a
an clegant building, erected choice collection of valu
in 1780 on an artificial mount Chetwode Priory, H. able works of art, includ
forinerly occupied by a cas. Branbridge, Esq. ing plate and furniture of
tle. The altar is adorned the most costly description
with a copy of Raphael's a fine gallery of paintings, transfiguration, presented
Two miles from Bucka library of 10,100 vols., by an ancestor of the pre
Jingham, on road to Stoney and an extensive collection
Bent Duke of Buckingham. Stratford, the remains of of MSS. Owing to the The other public edifices are a Roman villa were disco pecuniary embarrassments the town-hall, new gaol, tree vered in 1837. of the noble owner, these
grammar school, meetingwere all disposed of by house, and the remains of public auction in 1848.
the chapel of St John and Morton House, Rev. W.
Thomas á Becket. This town Audrewes.
suffered greatly b. fire in Morton Lodge, H. Smith,
1725. It returns two M.P. Evenley Hall, Hon. P Esq. Pop. 1951, 8069.
S. Pierrepont. Biddlesdon Park, G. 55 Westbury. 607
To Oxtord, 209 miles. Morgan, Esq.
52} BRACKLEY (Northamp.) 624 To Towcester, 11 miles. is one of the oldest boroughs in
Eugland, and still contains many remnants of its pristine
greatnes. It has a handsomo Farthinghoe.
market-house, two churches,
free school, and the ruins of an Thenford Hall, d. L.
hospital. said to have been Severne, Esq.
erected by the Zouche family
Broughton Castle, Lord To Warwick through| 44
BANBURY (Oron.) 714 Save and Sele.
on the Cherwell is famous for
To Chipping Norton
To Deddington, 69 m. castle of great strength, which
talned two Severe s eges during the civil wars. The only remains now in existence are a small portion of the wall Pop 1851, 8715. One M.P.
42 Drayton. 731
741 Wroxton Abbey, Esri
Alkerton, where Lydia the astronomer and met
thematician was buried. 337 Upton, (Warwicksh., 7841, Upton House, Captain
To Stratford on Aron,
123 miles, 86
Edgehill, 791Radway Grange, F. S. remarkable as the spot where Miller, Esq.
first battle between Charles I. and the Parlia. ment was fuugct.
Compton Vamey, Lord 29 Compton-Verney. 854 Walton Hall, Sir C.
To Stratford on Avon, Newbold Park. 1 27 Wellesbourne Hastings. 87% Charlecote, G. Lucy,
Esq. and beyond, Alveston
House, Sir 'T. G. Skipwith, The Hil. 2331 Barford.
cr. river Avon. Warwick Castle, Earl of 201| WARWICK. 94% Grove Park, Lord Dor. Warwick.
Warwick is situated nearly in the centre of the county. It stands on a rocky bill
, having a somewhat abrupt acclivity, watered by the Avon. This town is believed to be of Saxon origin, and was formerly surrounded with walls. It has three churches, of which St Mary's is the most remarkable. It has a lofty square tower, supported by piers, between which carriages may pass. The interior is richly adorned, and contains a number of ancient and curious monuments. Beauchamp chapel, a beautiful specimen of the Gothic style, contains a monument to the memory of Richard Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, the founder of the Lady chapel. This chapel is considered the most splendid in the kingdom, with the exception of that of Henry VII., in Westminster Abbey. Here is also a monument to Dudley, Earl of Leicester, Elizabeth's favourite. The other public buildings are, the county hall, the court house, gaol, bridewell, theatre, market house, free grammar school, the county asylum, public library and news-room, and several meeting houses. The races are held twice a-year on a plain near the west end of the town. Warwick returns two M.P. Population, 1851, 10,973. Several manufactures are carried on here, particularly those of combing and spinning long wool.
Warwick Castle, the magnificent residence of the Earl of Warwick, is situated at the south-east end of the town, on a rock washed by the Avon. The date of its original erection is unknown. Cæsar's tower, the most ancient part of the structure, is 147 feet high. Guy's tower, 128 feet high, was erected in 1994. The approach to the grand front exhibits three stupendous towers, and the entrance is flanked with embattled walls covered with ivy. The interior is remarkable for splendour and elegance. The principal suite of apartments extends 333 feet in a straight line, and is adorned with valuable paintings and curious specimens of ancient armour. la the green-bouse is a beautiful antique vase, well known as the Warwick vase, found at Tivoli, and capable of containing 168 gallons. About a mile from Warwick is Guy's Cliff, the retreat of the famous Earl Guy, and where he and his
Countess are supposed to be interred. Blacklow hill, opposite, is the spot where Piers Gavaston was beheaded in 1312
Two miles from Warwick is LEAMINGTON, or LEAMINGTON PRIORS, one of the most fashionable spas in the kingdom. It is pleasantly situated on the Leam, which is crossed by a handsome bridge. The waters are used, both internally and for the purpose of bathing, and are found very efficacious in many chronic disorders, in diseases of the skin, and visceral obstructions. The principal buildings are the new pump-room and baths, yhich are supposed to be the most ele gant in Europe; the assembly-rooms, concert and ball-rooms, the reading-rooms and library, the billiard-room, the Regent Hotel, the museum and picture gallery, the theatre, &c. The Ranelagh and Priory Gardens form delightful promenades. Leamington possesses also two churches, an Episcopal chapel, 6 meeting-house, a Roman Catholic chapel, an institution for the gratuitous supply of baths to the poor, national schools, several libraries, &c. The rides and walks in the vicinity are interesting and attractive; and very delightful excursions may be made to Warwick Castle, Kenilworth, Stratford, &c. Pop. 1851, 15,692.
KENILWORTH is five miles distant from Leamington, and about the samedistance from Warwick and from Coventry. Its name is said to have been derived from Kenulph, a Saxon King of Mercia, and his son Kenelm. In Queen Elizabeth's time it was called Killingworth ; but the original and correct designation is now restored. The ruins of its magnificent castle form one of the most splendid and picturesque remains of castellated strength to be found in the kingdom. It was founded by Geoffrey de Clinton, Lord Chamberlain and Treasurer to Henry I., but it shortly passed to the Crown. Henry III. granted the castle to the fac mous Simon de Montfort, Earl of Leicester, and Eleanor his wife, for their respective lives; and when the Earl took up arms against the King, it was the great place nf resort for the insurgent nobles. After the defeat and death of the Earl of Leicester, his eldest son, Simon de Montfort, continued to shelter himself in this fortress. He shortly afterwards withdrew to France, but his adherents held out the castle for six months against all the forces the King could bring against it, and they ultimately capitulated upon highly favourable terms. In the time of Fdward I. it was the scene of a splendid and costly tournament. Edward II. was kept a prisoner in this castle before his removal to Berkeley Castle, where he was ultimately murdered. In the reign of Edward III., Kenilworth passed into the possession of John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, who made large addiLions to it. When his son, Henry Bolingbroke, became King, it again became the property of the Crown, and so continued till the reign of Elizabeth, who conferred it on her favourite, Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester. This nobleman expended enormous sums in adorning and enlarging this structure. The following description of the appearance of the castle at this period is given by Sir Walter Scott in his novel of “ Kenilworth :"_“The outer wall of this splendid and gigantic structure enclosed seven acres, a part of which was occupied by extensive stables, and by a pleasure-garden, with its trim arbours and par
kerres, and the rest forming the large base-court or outer yard of the noble castie. The lordly structure itself, which rose near the centre of this spacious enclosure, Fas comp ised of a huge pile of magnificent castellated buildings, apparently of different ages, surrounding an inner court, and bearing, in the names attached to each portion of the magnificent mass, and in the armorial bearings which vere there blazoned, the emblems of mighty chiefs who had long passed away, and whose history, could ambition have bent ear to it, might have read a lesson to the haughty favourite who had acquired, and was now augmenting, this fair domain. A large and massive keep, which formed the citadel of the castle, was of uncertain though great antiquity. It bore the name of Cæsar, probably fron its resemblance to that in the Tower of London so called. ternal wall of this royal castle was, on the south and west sides, adorned and defended by a lake, partly artificial, across which Leicester had constructed a stately bridge, that Elizabeth might enter the castle by a path hitherto untrodden, instead of the usual entrance to the northward, over which he had erected a gatehouse or barbican, which still exists, and is equal in extent, and superior in architecture, to the baronial castle of many a northern chief. Beyond the lake lay an extensive chase, full of red deer, fallow deer, roes, and every species ef game, and abounding with lofty trees, from amongst which the extensive front and massive towers of the castle were seen to rise in majesty and beauty."
Elizabeth visited Leicester at Kenilworth in the years 1566, 1568, and 1578. The last visit, wbich far eclipsed all other “Royal Progresses," has been immortalized by Scott. A reference to the ground plan of the castle, and some extracts from the inventory of Leicester's furniture, in the appendix to Scott's *Kenilworth,” will afford some idea of the enormous extent of the place, and the costliness of its decorations. After Leicester's death Kenilworth was seized by the crown, and was ultimately granted by Cromwell to certain officers of his army, who demolished the splendid fabric for the materials. After the Restoration, Charles II. gave the property to Sir Edward Hyde, whom he created Baron Kenilworth and Earl of Clarendon. For a long period the castle was left to ruin; but the present Earl of Clarendon has manifested a praiseworthy anxiety to arrest its decay. The only remaining part of the original fortress is the keep or Cæsar's Tower, the walls of which are in some places sixteen feet thick. The remains of the additions made by John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, are termed Lancaster buildings. In the latter are to be seen the relics of the great hall, a fine baronial room, 86 feet in length, and 45 feet in width. Although the erections or Leicester are of the most recent date, they have the most ancient and ruined appearance, having been built of a brown friable stone, not well calculated to stand the weather. “We cannot but add,” says Sir Walter Scott, “ that of this lordly palace, where princes feasted and heroes fought, now in the bloody earnest of storin and siege, and now in the games of chivalry, where beauty dealt the prize * salour won, all is now desolate. The bed of the lake is now a rushy swam
massy ruins of the castie only serve to show what their splendour once was, and to impress on the musing visitor the transitory value of human possessions, and the happiness of those who enjoy a humble lot in virtuous contentment."
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
Resuming the route to
cr. Warwick and Grove Park, Lord DorPriory.
To Birmingham through was perpetual curate of
Hockley, 17 miles.
Wroxhall Abbey, C. Springfield.
Wren Hoskyns, Esq., the 1051
representative of the cele Temple Balsall. The church is a handsome
brated Sir C. Wren. The building, containing some
mansion stands on the site curious carving.
of a nunnery, erected by
Hugh de Hatton in the 78 Solihull. (1077
time of King Stephen.
Malvern Hall. Olton House.
LXXXIIL LONDON TO BIRMINGHAM BY ST ALBANS, DUNSTABLE,
DAVENTRY, AND COVENTRY, 1087 miles.