Imatges de pàgina
PDF
EPUB

BRANCEPETA CASTLE, the property of Viscount Boyne in right of his wife, is situated between Bishop Auckland and Durham, at the distance of about four miles from the latter. This stately building was erected by the family of the Bulmers, most probably during the early part of Stephen's reign. It is supposed to have derived its name, The Brawn's path, from a huge brawn or boar, said to have once haunted this spot, and to have been killed by one of its lords. The castle was restored or rebuilt by the grandfather of the present possessor's wife, but still retains much of its original appearance and massive strength, and is one of the noblest mansions in the country. In the entrance-hall there is a suit of armour, richly inlaid with gold, said to be that of David Bruce, King of Scotland, taken at Nevill's Cross. The baron's hall contains a fine collection of armour and arms of all sorts. The rooms are very fine, and adorned with some good paintings. The country around is rich and pleasant. In the church are various monuments of the Nevills.

CXXXIX. LONDON TO ALSTON THROUGH WOLSINGHAM, STANHOPE, AND

ST. JOHN'S WEARDALE, 2823 Miles.

X BIGHT FROM LOND.

From

Alston.

From
London,

ON LEFT FROM LOND.

From Hicks's Hall to To Bishop Auckland, 371 WEST AUCKLAND (p 401.) 2454 To Barnard Castle, 1!! 3 miles.

miles. cr. the river Wear.

Witton Castle, Sir Wil. 324 Witton le Wear. 250 3 m. distant, across liam R. C. Claytor, Bart.

the Wear, Hopeland Witton llall.

House. 300 Horden Head. 252 Bishop Auckland Railway.

To Durham, 114 m. 293 larperley Lane Head. 253 Harperley Park, G. H. Wolsinghamissituated 267 WOLSINGHAM.

Wilkinson, Esq.

2561 on a point of land formed by the confluence of the 231 Frosterley. Wear and Weserow. At

2591 Stanhope, a small town a short distance are the

on the Wear, chiefly inremains of a spacious

habited by miners. Near structure, supposed to be

it, to the west, on an

eminence called Castle part of amonastery founded by Henry de Pudsey.

Hill, are the remains of

an ancient fortress; and Above the town is an

on the north is a caveru ominence commanding in extensive and delight: 204

abounding with stalacSTANIIOPE.

In the vicinity is iul prospect. One mile rom Wolsingham is 18

East Gate.

Stanhope Castle. The

264 Stauhope and Tyne RailBishopoak, and, farther 144 West Gate. 268 way connects this town to the right, Fawnlees.

St. John's Weardale. 2699 with South Shields, &c.

Enter Cumberland. The living is a very rich 67 Kilhope Cross.

ALSTON MOOR. 282;

2624 tites.

131

276) one.

ALStox stan is on an eminence near the Tyoc, crer which is an ancient

bridge. The surrounding country is bleak and desolate. In the vicinity are rich and extensive lead mines, belonging to Greenwich hospital. Eleven and a quarter miles from Alston is Haltwhistle (Northumberland), on the Newcastle and Carlisle Railway (see p. 266), an ancient town containing two old border towers,-a church, adorned with old monuments, and a remarkable oval mound. called Castle Banks, in the centre of which is a fine spring. Two and a half miles from Haltwhistle is Fetherston Castle, a noble edifice belonging to J. G. F. Wallace, Esq.; and about three miles north-west of the town are the remains of Thirlwall Castle, formerly one of the boundary fortresses between England and Scotland.

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed]
[graphic]

thence to Guisborough, 171 miles.*

37

Trenholme. 2311 Rounton Grange. Rudby.

343 Crathorne.
33

Kirkleavington. 2351

31 YARM. (See p. 411.) 2373 To Northallerton, 17 The Fryerage, T. Mey

miles; Richmond, 21 m. nell, Esq.

Acr. River Tees and

enter Durham, Two miles dist. Ack-27 STOCKTON. (See p. 411.) 2413 lam Hall, T. Hustler, Esq. 253 Norton Inn.

To Thorpe, 34 miles; 243

thence to Layton, 21

miles; thence to Sedge241 Billingham Grange.

Billingham.

field, íf mile.

244 223 Wolviston. 246 Wynyard Park, Earl To Greatham, 21 m.;

Vane. thence to Stranton, 3

19

Red Lion Inn. miles; thence to Har

2494 tlepool, 2 miles.

To Hartlepool, by

Hart, 54 miles.
Elwick Hall.

16
Sheraton.

2521

Hartlepool Railway. Castle Eden, R. Bur

13

Castle Eden Inn. 2554
don, Esq., A spacious
castellated edifice, beau-

12
Shotton.

2567 tifully situated on the 9

Easington. 2591

Near Bishop Wear

mouth are, l'hornhill summit of a wooded precipice, forming the

-High Barns - Low

Barns - Ford - Low southern boundary of

Pallion-and across the the romantic defile call

Cold Hesledon. 261 Wear, Hilton Place and ed Castle Eden Dean. 6| Dalton le Dale. 262 Hilton Castle (J. Bowes,

Esq.), formerly the baSeaham Hall, Earl

ronial residence of the Vane. 31 Ryhope.

Hiltons, who possessed 265

the manor from the

time of Athelstan till The Grange-Salem * Bishop Wearmouth. 2678 the year 1746. It stands House-Middle Hendon

in a charming vale on 1-Building Hill-Hen

the north side of the don-Hendon Lodge.

SUNDERLAND.

2684 river Wear. (See p. 412.)

Guisborough was the first place in England where alum-works were erected. Here are the ruins of an abbey whick was once the burial-place of the nobility of the surrounding country. One mile south-east is a mineral spring. Four miles north-west is a lofty hill, commanding a very extensive prospect; and four miles south-west is Roseberry Topping, a peaked mountain, 1022 feet high, which also commands fine views. The country around Guigborough is very beautiful. Three miles distant are Witon Castle (Sir John H. Lowther, Bart.) and Skeltou Castle, near which is Upleatham Hall. Five miles distant is Kirk. leatham Hall, surrounded by tasteful grounds. Near the hall is Turner's Hospital, founded, in 1676, by Sir W. Turner for 40 poor people. In Kirkleatham church is a splendid mausoleum. Beyond, is Marsk Hall, Earl of Zetland. Seven miles from Guisborough are Redcar and Coathanı, two small villages much frequented for sea-bathing. The sands extend eight miles.

T

AND SOUTH AND NORTH SHIELDS, 2804 Miles.

ON RIGHT FROM LOND.

From
Tynem.

From
London.

OX LEFT YBOY LOND.

26+)

From Hicks's Hall to
Durham by Ware, (p.

387), is 2551 miles, by
217 Baldock, (p. 370).

2597 184

Blue House. 2612
Belmont, and 2 miles
distant, Elemore Hall. 171 Rainton Pitt Houses. 2631

161
East Rainton.

2 miles distant Murton Great Eppleton, and

House. Little Eppletou, and Hetton Hall.

141 Houghton le Spring. 266 2 miles distant, South 14 mile distant Tun. 12 East Harrington.

2689

Biddick. stall Lodge.

High Barns and Low

Barns. 9 Bishop Wearmouth. 271) Ford and Pallion House. Thornhill and the

87 SUNDERLAND (see p. 412). 2721 Grange.

The Iron Bridge.
Scross river Wear.
Monk Wearmouth.

2727
TA Fulwell Inn. 273
Whitburn, Sir Hed.
worth Williamson, Bart.

Cleadon.

275
Cleadon House and
West House.

39
Harton.

2763 Biddick House.
3
Westoe.

277
SOUTH SHIELDS 278) Hebburn Hall, C. El-
(see p. 413).

son, Esq.
Cross the river Tyne by

the Ferry.
NORTH SHIELDS 279

(see p. 414).

(Northumberland). TYNEMOUTH (see p. 414). 2801 Tynemouth Lodge, and.

2 miles distant, Whitley Park.

12

OR,
From Hicks's Hall to
9 Bishop Wearmouth.

2671
Thence to Tynemouth as 2763

above.

OR,
From Hicks's Hall to
9 NEWCASTLE-UPON- 2733

TYNE, (p. 887).
8
Useborn.

2743
Byker.

2757
21
Chirton.

Heaton Hall, beyond 13 NORTH SHIELDS 2913 which is Benton House, (see p. 414).

and Little Benton. TYNEMOUTH (see p. 414). 2824

Chirton House.

YARM stands on a narrow neck of land, washed on three sides by the river Tees. Owing to the extreme lowness of its situation, it has suffered severely by inundations. The town carries on a small trade in corn, bacon, &c. The church has a fine stained glass window. Pop. of par. 1851, 1647.

STOCKTON is situated on the left bank of the Tees. It is 242 miles from the General Post-Office, London, by the coach road through Barnet, Biggleswade, Stamford, &c., and 276 miles by railway through Rugby, Leicester, Derby, York, and Darlington. It is one of the handsomest and cleanest towns in the north of England. The bishops of Durham had, from an early period, a residence here, where Bishop Morton took refuge when the army of Charles I. was defeated by the Scots in the skirmish at Newburn, (A.D. 1640.) It was demolished by order of the Parliament in 1652. The traces of the moat and embankment still mark the site. Stockton possesses several churches, chapels, and meeting-houses, a town-hall, custom-bouse, a mechanics’ institution, grammar, blue-coat, charity, and national schools ; a news-room, assembly rooms, billiard-rooms, and a small theatre. There is a race-course on the opposite side of the Tees. The principal manufacture of the town is that of engines and of linen and sail-cloth. There are also iron and brass foundries, breweries, and some corn-mills, and some shipbuilding, rope and sail making, and yarn and worsted spinning are carried on. There are extensive coal-works and some brick-yards near the town, and a salmon and other fisheries in the Tees. The harbour of Stockton is formed by the river Tees. A considerable trade is carried on with the Baltic, Holland, Hamburgh, and British America ; and coastwise, with London, Leith, Hull, Sunderland, &c. Customs revenue of Stockton, 1857, £86,689. Communication is maintained with London and Newcastle by steam-packets, and with Darlington, York, Manchester, Birmingham, London, &c., by railway. The Stockton, Darlington, and Wear Valley Railway has a terminus on the guay. It is the first railway on which locomotive engines were employed. A branch to Middlesbrough, a port in Yorkshire, where the Stockton steamers stop, parts from the main line to the south of the town of Stockton, and is carried over the Tees by a suspension bridge. This railway extends from the Teesmouth by Billingham, Whitton, Preston le Skerne, and West Auckland, to the coal-fields of Witton and Cockfield, a distance of 30 miles. Pop. 1861, 9808.

Four and a half miles from Stockton is Wynyard Park, the seat of Earl Vane.

Twelve miles from Stockton is HARTLEPOOL, situated on a small peninsula jutting out into the sea, a few miles from the mouth of the Tees. This peninsula, which is one of the most marked features of the eastern coast, is partly formed by a pool called the Slake, dry at low water. The name of the town was derived from Hart-le-pol, the Pool or Slake of Hart. A monastery, which is mentioned by Bede, was founded here at a very early period. St Hilda was the abbess of it. Mention is made of Hartlepool as a harbour of some consequerce so early as 1171. In the thirteenth century it belonged to the Bruces

« AnteriorContinua »