« AnteriorContinua »
pable of floating vessels of 200 tons. The appearance of the town is neat, the greater part of the houses being of modern erection. The parish church, dedicated to St Mary, received considerable additions in 1804 ; but a tower and Nor man doorway of the old structure still remain. From the sloping ground behind the church, a delightful view of the bay and neighbouring country may be obtained. A new and elegant church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected at the upper end of the town in 1832. Amongst other buildings of recent erection, the Savings' Bank may be noticed. The town contains a Theatre, Assembly Room, and Subscription Library, and two good Inns,—the Sun and Braddyll's Arms. Ship-building is carried on to some extent ; and the manufacture of check, canvass, and hats, is a considerable branch of trade.
The Duke of Buccleuch is Lord of the liberty of Furness, of which the Manor of Ulverston forms part.
CONISHEAD PRIORY, the seat of T. R. G. Braddyll, Esq., has been termed, from its beautiful situation, “ the Paradise of Furness.” It is situate two miles south of Ulverston, near the sea-shore, in an extensive and well-wooded park, which is intersected, like most old parks, with public roads, forming a favourite promenade for the inhabitants of the town. The mansion, which has lately been rebuilt in a style of magnificence of which there are few examples in the north of England, occupies the site of the ancient Priory, founded by William de Lan. caster, the fourth in descent from Ivo de Taillebois, first Baron of Kendai, in the reign of Henry II. Upon the dissolution of the religious houses, it fell into the hands of Henry the VIII., whose cupidity was excited by the great extent of its landed possessions. The interior of the mansion possesses some good paintings of Titian, the Carracci, Romney, Reynolds, and other celebrated painters. HOLKER HALL, a seat of the Duke of Devonshire, is placed in a noble park on the opposite shore of the Leven, about three and a half miles east of Ulverston. The noble owner has a good collection of pictures, among which are many excellent paintings by Romney.
Six miles north-east of Ulverston is the village of Cartmell, in which is an ancient church, once a priory, of unusual size and beauty, dedicated to the Virgin. A short distance from the village is a medicinal spring called Holywell. Six miles and a half to the south-west of Ulverston, in a close valley called Beckansgill, or the glen of deadly nightshade, from that plant being found there a great abundance, are the beautiful remains of Furness ABBEY, now belonging to the Duke of Devonshire. This abbey was founded in 1127, by Stephen, Earl of Montaigne and Boulogne, afterwards King of England; “This prince ronferred the greater part of the district, excepting the land of Michael Fleming, on the Abbey of Furness, by a charter dated 1126, in which, for the first time, the name Furness Fudernesia' or the further ness, is found. By this institution it was held till the dissolution, when it reverted to the Crown, and be came part of the duchy of Lancaster. In the year 1662, it was granted by Charles II. to the Duke of Albemarle, and his heirs, with all the rights, privre
leges, and jurisdictions belonging thereto. The Lordship is now held by the Duke of Buccleuch, to whom the property of the Duke of Albemarle descended by marriage. In the early part of English history, the Falls of Furness formed the boundary between Scotland and England, and in 1138, a terrible eruption from the north laid the whole peninsula desolate. The ruins of the castle of Pile of Fouldrey form a monument of that invasion,"
The ruins amply attest the former magnificence of the structure. The length of the church is 287 feet, the nave is 70 feet broad, and the walls in some places 54 feet high, and 5 feet thick. The walls of the church, and those of the chap ter-house, the refectorium, and the school-house, are still in great part remaining, and exhibit fine specimens of Gothic architecture ; the chapter-house, 60 feet by 45, has been a sumptuous apartment; the roof, which was ot' fret-work, was supported by six channelled pillars. The great east window, the four seats near it, adorned with Gothic ornaments, and four statues found in the ruins, are particularly worthy of notice.
By the ebbing of the tide, the sands of Morecambe Bay, lying between Lancaster (hence usually termed the LANCASTER Sands) and Ulverston, are twice a day, to the extent of several miles, left perfectly dry, except in the channels of the rivers Kent and Leven, and may be crossed by vehicles of every description. Guides, who are remunerated by Government, are stationed at the places where the rivers flow, to conduct travellers across in safety. The whole distance from Lancaster to Ulverston is twenty-two miles. From Hest Bank, the point of en try upon the sands on the eastern shore, to Kents Bank, is a distance of eleren miles. Three miles of terra firma are then crossed, and three miles of sand follow, lying between the shores of the Leven estuary, from the nearest of which Ulverston is distant something more than a mile. If the proper time be chosen, (which can be easily ascertained by inquiry at Lancaster and Ulverston,) there is no danger in crossing these sandy plains, and yet few years pass in which lives are not lost. +
KESWICK. (Hotels :-Royal Oak; Queen's Head, King's Arms.) KESWICK, a market-town in the parish of Crosthwaite, and county of Cumberland, is situate on the south bank of the Greta, in a large and fertile vale, little more than a mile from the foot of Skiddaw, and half a mile from Derwentwater. It contains 2618 inhabitants, and consists of one large street. The principal manufactures are linsey-wolsey stuffs, and edge-tools, particularly the former. Black-lead pencils, made of the plumbago (or wad, as it is provincially called,) extracted from the mine in Borrowdale, are also a considerable branch
. BAINES' Hist. of Lancashire, Vol. iv. p. 227.
"I must not omit to tell you that Mr Wordsworth not only admirel our exploit in cros. sing the Ulverston Sands as a deed of derring do,' but as a decided proof of taste : the lake scenery, be says, is never seen to such advantage as after the passage of what he calls its majustic barrier." - Mrs HEMANS' Letters.