« AnteriorContinua »
1004 Curdworth Bridge. 105
Middleton Hall, Lord
Enter Staffordshire. To Tamworth, 5 miles. 941 Basset's Pole. 111 To Sutton Coldfield, 24
miles, and beyond Sutton Canwell Hall, Lord
911 Floyer, Esq.
Thickbroom Cot. Swinfen Hall, J. Swin- 894
Swinfen. (1164) Shenstone Pa.E. fen, Esq.
Grove, Esq, and beyond, Freeford Hall, R. Dyott,
Fotherley Hall. Esq.
cr. Wyrley and
Essington Canal. To Derby, 231 miles; 878 LICHFIELD. 114 To Birmingham, 15 m. Abbot's Bromley, 111 m.
(See p. 210.
Walsall, 9 miles. Stowe House.
Pipe Grange. Elmhurst Hall, J.
Maple Hayes. Smith, Esq.
Longdon. 122 Beaudesert Park (Mar
quis of Angleses: a mag
nificent mansion, Armytage Park.
rounded by fine trees. 811
Brereton. |12421 793
RUGELEY |1263. The Grand Trunk Canal carries on a considerable is here carried over the tradein hats, and has seve- Trent by a noble aqueduet.
al mills and iron forges, Hagley Park, the an ancient church, &c. Baroness De la Zouche.
Pop. of town, 1851, 3054. Two miles distant on Bellamore House.
(See p. 211.)
Cannock Chase is a faColton Hall, Bishton
774 Wolseley Bridge. 128 mous spring: Hall.
Wolseley Hall, Sir C. cr. river Trent Wolseley, Bart. and Grand Trunk
Canal. Blithfield House, (Lord 769 Colwich. Bagot.)
The church contains a number of monuments of
Shugborough (Earl of the Ansons and Wolseleys.
Lichfield), the birth-place 754 Great Haywood. 1307 of the great Lord Anson.
Tixall Park, Sir T. A. C. Constable, Bart.
Ingestre Hall, Earl 729 Shirley wich. 113311 his road to Lichfield is 40 miles nearer than that through Northampton and Lutterworth
| From Londou.
ON LEFT FRON LOXD.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
Birtles, and Alderley Park, Lord Stanley of Al. derley. 344 Chelford.
Withington Hall, J. Glegg, Esq., and 3 miles distant, Orer Peover, Sir
H.M. Mainwaring, Bart. Norbury Booth's Hall, 314 Ollerton Gate. 174) Toft Hall, R. LeycesP. Legh, Esq.
ter, Esq. Tatton Park, W. T. 294 KNUTSFORD 1761) Tabley Hall, seat of Egerton, Esq., M.P. is said to have derived its Lord de Tabley, a hand
name from Canute or Knut some edifice of the Doric passing the ford here with order, containing & fine his army. Many of the in- picture gallery. Within habitants are engaged in
the grounds is the old the manufacture of cotton. hall of Tabley, a rener. Annual races.are held here able structure covered in July. Pop. of town
with ivy, standing on an 1851, $127.
island in & lake which
adorns the park. Mere.
Mere Hall, P. L
Brooke, Esq. High-Legh Hall, G. C. 241
High Legh. (1814 Two miles distant ArLegh, Esq. West Hall,
ley Hall. E. Legh, Esq.
Outhrington Hall, T.
Thelwall Hall and Sta. 19 Latchford. 187 tham Lodge.
cr. river Mersey,
and enter Lancashire. To Manchester, 18 m. | 173 WARRINGTON. 1881 Fairfield Hall and Or
(see p. 238.) ford Hall. Bank Hall, J. W. Pal- 164 Sankey Bridge.
(1891 ten, Esq.
Bewsay Hall, Laru Lilford.
cr. Sankey Navi
1904 Bold Hall, Sir H. Bolu Hoghton, Bart.
Rainhill. 195 Halsnead Hall, R. Two m. dist. Sherdley
Willis, Esq. House and Sutton Lodge. 8 PRESCOT, 198 In Prescot was born
Knowsley Park, the noted for its manufacture the celebrated actor, J. magnificent seat of the of watch-tools and more P. Kemble. Earl of Derby : and one ments. At Ravenhead are The Hasles, Sir T. B mile to the right Eccles- celebrated
plate - glass Birch, Bart. ton Hall
works. Pop.of town, 1861, Roby Hall.
Childwall Hall, Mar. Croxteth Park, Earl of fton.
Knotty Ash. 202 quis of Salisbury.
NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME is a place of considerable antiquity, and a corpo. rate town so early as the reign of Henry VI. A castle was built here during the reign of Henry VII.; but no vestiges of it remain, except a portion of the mound on which it was built. The town has an old church, several meeting-houses, and a range of alms-houses, founded by the second Duke of Albemarle. The chief manufacture is that of hats. There are several silk mills, a paper and a cotton mill; a few of the inhabitants are engaged in the potteries. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 10,569.
STOKK-UPON-TRENT is one of the new Parliamentary boroughs created by the Reform Act. This borough has this peculiarity, that instead of comprehend. ing one principal town and its suburbs, it consists of a considerable district, ex. tending 7 miles in length, and about three miles in breadth, and including the market-towns of Burslem, Hanley, Lane-End, Stoke, Tunstall Court, &c. This district is commonly termed the “ Potteries," and is the chief seat of the earthen-ware manufacture in England. In the borough, or in its immediate neighbourhood, a very large proportion of the population is engaged in the manufactory of earthenware. Coals, marl, and potter's clay are dug in the vicinity. At Etruria is the superb mansion erected by the late Josiah Wedgwood, the great improver of the earthen manufacture of the district. Stoke-upon-Trent returns two M. P. Pop. of Parliamentary borough, 1851, 84,027. It is connected by railway with all parts of the kingdom.
LIVERPOOL, now second only to London, is situated on the right side of the Mersey. A castle is said to have been built here by Roger of Poictiers, which was demolished in 1659. St. George's Church now stands on the site. During the civil wars, Liverpool held out against Prince Rupert for a month, but at last it was taken, and many of the garrison and inhabitants were put to the sword. The town was very soon after retaken by Colonel Birch, and continued to remain true to the popular cause. Liverpool was merely a chapelry attached to the parish of Walton till the reign of William III., and in 1650 but 15 ships belonged to the port. It was at one time deeply engaged in the African slave trade; and in 1764, more than half this trade was carried on by the merchants of Liverpool. Since the great extension of the cotton manufacture it has become the port where the great bulk of the raw material is received, and whence the exports of manufactured goods are chiefly made to all parts of the world. It also enjoys a very large proportion of the trade between England and Ireland, the value of Irish produce imported in 1844 having been £4,618,957. Liverpool is supposed to possess one-tenth part of the shipping of Great Britain ; one-third part of the foreign trade; one sixth part of the general commerce; and more than one-half as much trade as the port of London. The customs dues amounted in 1857 to £3,621,409; and the cotton imported to 2,250,500 bales. The imports are about thirty millions in value, the exports exceeding that sum by a tenth, and it is calculated that more than 1600 tons of goods pass daily between Liverpool and Manchester. Nearly one-third of the tonnage inwards and outwards is engaged in the trade with the United States. Considerable traffic
is carried un also with Africa, the West India Islands, with Brazil, and other parts of South America, and with the East Indies. Its intercourse with Ireland is greater in amount than that kept up with all the other ports in Great Britain. The inland trade of Liverpool is much assisted by means of canals and railways and it has benefited more than any port in the kingdom, (London alone excepted) by the application of steam power to navigation. The docks are constructed on a most stupendous scale. They consist of wet, dry, and graving docks, and are connected with wide and commodious quays, and immense warehouses. The wet docks occupy an aggregate area of about 174 acres, and the quays measure 14 miles in length. The dry docks occupy an area of twenty acres.
Till the beginning of the present century, the streets of Liverpool were narrow and inconvenient, and the buildings devoid of architectural beauty, but successive improvements have given to the town an elegance not to be met with in any other commercial port in the kingdom. The most important public buildings are, the Town-hall, the Exchange buildings, the Custom-house, and St George's Hall. The town-hall is a handsome Palladian building, surmounted by a dome, which is crowned by a statue of Britannia. It contains a number of portraits and a statue of Roscoe by Chantrey, and on the landing of the staircase there is a statue of Canning by the same artist. The interior of the town-hall, besides the rooms on the basement story, contains a saloon, two drawing-rooms, two ball-rooms, a banqueting-room, and a refectory, the whole elegantly fitted up. The exchange buildings form three sides of a square, in the centre of which is a group of statuary, in memory of Nelson, executed by Westmacott in 1813. The new custom-house, a very fine building, both in magnitude and architectural execution, contains also the post-office, the excise-office, the stamp-office, the dock-treasurer's and secretary's offices, the board-room, and offices of the dock committee. The finest building in Liverpool is that allotted to the assize courts, and includes a noble apartment called St George's Hall. The whole cost about L.192,000. At the junction of the London road and Pembroke Place, there is an equestrian statue of George III. by Westmacott. St James's cemetery was once a quarry of red stone, and consists principally of catacombs. On the summit of the rock near the entrance is a beautiful chapel, containing some good sculpture. Here the late Mr. Huskisson was interred, and a monument to his memory has been placed over the spot, with a statue of fine white marble, habited in a toga. Liverpool contains thirty-five places of worship connected with the Establishment, and seventy belonging to Dissenters of various denominations. There are in Liverpool numerous Sunday, evening, and day schools, with many medical as well as provident and religious charities. There are also several literary institutions and places of public amusement. Among the literary institutions may be mentioned the Royal Institution, formed in 1814, by Mr. Roscoe—the Literary, Scientific, and Commercial Institution, set on foot in 1835-the Mechanics' Institution, opened in 1837 --the Liverpool Institution of the Fine Arts--the Atheneum-the Lyceum-tie Collegiate Institution, &c. Liverpool has ten prisons.
The markets of Liverpool are very remarkable structures ; that of St Joho