Imatges de pàgina
[blocks in formation]

Denbigh, the capital of Denbighshire, is pleasantly situated on a rocky emipence in the beautiful vale of Clwyd. The castle, now in ruins, was founded in the reign of Edward I. It underwent a siege during the civil wars, and after the Restoration of Charles II. was blown up with gunpowder and rendered completely untenable. The ruins cover the summit of the craggy hill, and the prospect through the broken arches and frittering walls is extensive and beautiful. Denbigh has been compared to Stirling in Scotland, and has a very imposing aspect from a distance, with the ruinous castle crowning the summit of the hill. The parish church is situated at Whitchurch, one mile from the town, but is seldom used by the inhabitants, who generally attend divine worship at the ancient chapel of St Hilary. In the porch of the parish church, partly ruinous, are the effigies in brass of Richard Middleton of Gwaenynog, and Jane, his wife. He was governor of Denbigh Castle in the reigns of Edward VI., Mary, and Elizabeth. William, his third son, was a sea captain, and a poet; Thomas, fourth son, became Lord Mayor of London, and founder of the family of Cbirk Castle; Hugh, the sixth son, expended an immense fortune in bringing the new river into London. An ancient priory for Carmelites existed at Denbigh, but the conventual church, now converted into a malt-house, is all that remains of the institution. Denbigh had formerly a considerable manufactory of gloves and shoes. It unites with Holt, Ruthin, and Wrexham, in returning one M.P. Pop. of Par. bor. 1851, 5498. The vicinity abounds with beautiful and interesting scenery. It gives the title of Ear! to the Fielding family.

* Mr Fitzmaurice was brother of the first and uncle of the present Marquis of Lands. downe, and having married Mary third Countess of Orkney in her own right, was grandfather of the present Earl. In order to encourage his tenantry in Ireland, and promote the national manufacture of linens, he erected a bleaching establishment here at an expense of L.2000, in which, under his own superintendence, 4000 pieces were bleached yearly. It is said he usually travelled in iis coach to Chester, and when there stood behind a counter.






To Kettering, 139 m. Wel. 274 From Hicks's Hall to Hagborough, li m. 14 m. distans Abington Abbey (208 NORTHAMPTON, p. 224. 66 | To Daventry, 12 miles. lunatic saylam), and beyond Overstone Park, Lord Over

2 miles distant Upton stone.

Hall. To Market Harborough, 206) Kingsthorpe. 67}

Kingsthorpe House, 14 m. 19 m. distan, Bouglas

and Althorp Park, Earl ton House, R. W. Howard TIN, Em

Spencer. (See p. 202.) Brampton House

2031| Chapel Brampton. 701 Spration House

Cottesbrooke House, Sir J. 1. Langham, Bart.

Teeton House. Thornby Hall : And, 2 miles | 20


Hollowell and Guilds. distant, is Naseby, where the

horough Hall, W. Z. L. decisive battle was fought be.

To the left of this place is Iween Charles L and the Holmby House, where

Ward, Esq.
Partisraentary forces under

Charles I. was imprisoned.
Cromwell. The village is
considered the centre of.
England, and the highest

Thornby. 777
ground in it. 3 rivers, the
Welland, Nene, and Avon,
take their rise in this parish.

Sulby Abbey, G. Payne,

[ocr errors]

morth 1937

To Leicester, 16 miles.

A# a distance, Bosworth
Hall, G. F. Turville, EM
Misterton Hall
To Leicester, 12 m.



[ocr errors]


3 miles distant Stan
ford Hall, (the Baroness

A cr. river Kilworth,

and enter Leicestersh.
1901 North Kilworth.

Walcote. 87

To Rugby, 8 miles; to
on the Swift, has a con Coventry, 187 miles.
siderable stocking trade. Coton Hall.
The church is a large
handsome building, and
contains several tombs of
the Feildings, and a carved
oak pulpit, the top of
which is said to have
formed part of that from
which Wyckliffe delivered
his discourses. The chair
in which he expired is also
shown. He was buried
here in 1387 ; but, in 1428,
his body was taken up and
burnt, and his ashes cast
into the Swift. Pop. 1851,

184 Bitteswell. 90
181 Claybrooke.
179 High Cross (on Wat- 95 l Newnham, Paddox

|ling Street). 'Here two Earl of Denbigh.
Roman roads, the Fosse and

Ullesthorpe Honse.
Claybrooke Hall.

[blocks in formation]


1671 Witherley.

1061 2 m. distant, Caldecote


Oldbury Hall.

Mancetter House, cr. river Anker, and Mancetter Hall, and

enter Warwickshire. Mancetter, a Roman Atherstone Hall, C. 166) ATHERSTONE 1075

station. H. Bracebridge, Esq. carries on a considerable 24 m., Grendon Hall, Sir trade in hats. In a meadow

Merevale Hall, W. S. G. Chetwynd, Bart., and north of the church the Dugdale, Esq.; and 2 4 m. dist., Gopsall Hall, Earl of Richmond

miles beyond, Baxterly

en(Earl Howe.)

Hall. camped previous to the To Burton upon Trent, battle of Bosworth Field, 20 miles; to Tamworth, by Grendon, 9 miles.

Hall End. 1111

161 14 mile distant, Pooley

113 To Coleshill, 94 miles, Wilnecote.

Sutton Coldfield, 71 m. Hall. Enter Staffordshire.

Drayton Manor, Sir To Ashby de la Zouch, 1581| TAMWORTH, (p. 357.) 1154 R. Peel, Bart. 13 m.; Burton upon

Bonehill, and beyond Trent, 15 miles.

Middleton Hall, Lord Tamworth Castle.

Wenlock. Wigginton Lodge.

Hint's Hall, W. H.C. cr. river Tame and

Floyer, Esq.
Grand Junction Canal.

Swinfen Hall, J. SwinCamberford Hall.

186) Hopwas. 1171 fen, Esq. Packington Hall.

Freeford Hall, R. Stowe Hall.

Dyott, Esq., Naple | 1501 LICHFIELD 1231 Hayes and Pipe Grange. is finely situated on a branch of the river Trent. It is divided by a sheet of water into two parts, the city and the close, the latter being fortified. The cathedral, erected chiefly in the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, is the most interesting object in the town, and, from its elevated situation, visible at a great distance. It is 491 at by 153, and surrounded by a wall. It suffered much in the famous siege ich it underwent during the Parliamentary war, but has since been twice thoghly repaired. The exterior is almost unrivalled for the elegance of its architure, and the interior corresponds in splendour and magnificence. Of the amerous monuments, those of Dr. Johnson and Garrick, the former a native of the town, chiefly merit attention. There are also monuments to Lady Mary Wortley Montagu and Miss Seward, and the celebrated work of Chantrey representing two sleeping children. The other places deserving notice are, the house in Bacon Street, where Dr Darwin wrote his Zoonomia, and the house on the west side of the Market Place, the birth-place of Dr Johnson, a statue of whom now adorns the same street. This statue is 19 feet high, in a sitting position, and on the pedestal are three bas reliefs illustrative of the doctor's life. Also the markethouse, the town-hall, the Hospital of St. John, the spot where Lord Brooke fell during the siege of the cathedral, indicated by a pavement of white pebbles, and an inscription recording the event, and the free school of St John, where Ashmole, Addison, Johnson, Garrick, Wollaston, Hawkins Browne, and many other eminient men received the rudiments of their education. Lichfield contains three parochial churches, several chapels and meeting-houses, charitable institutions, a theatre, library, &c. The city is a county in itself, with exempt jurisdiction. and sends two members to the House of Commons. It affords the title of Earl to the Anson family. There is little trade except with the interior by means of canals and railway. The brewing of ale also yields considerable profit. The markets are held on Tuesdays and Fridays. Pop. 1851, 6573.

[blocks in formation]

1441 In the vicinity of

Brereton. 1294 Rugeley, the Grand 143 RUGELEY


Hagley Park, the Trunk Canal is carried carties on a considerable

Baroness de la Zouche. over the Trent by means trade in hats, and has

Stoke House. of a noble aqueduct. several mills and iron

To Stone 12 miles. forges. The church has Colton Hall, Bishton been rebuilt, but has an Hall, and beyond, Blith- old tower at the west end. field House, (Lord About 2 miles north of the Bagot.)

town on Cannock Chase Shagborough, (Earl is a famous spring. Pop. of Lichfield), the birth- 1851, 3054. place of the famous Lord 1407 Wolseley Bridge. 1337) Wolseley Hall, Sir C. Anson, celebrated for its

Wolseley, Bart. natural as well as sculp

Haywood House. tural beauties.

Tixall Hall, Sir T. A. 137 Milford. 137) Brockton Hall, W. C. Constable Bart.

Chetwynd, Esq. Ingestre Hall, Earl of

Brockton Lodge. Shrewsbury, and beyond,

Milford Hall. Sandon Hall, karl of Har






Weeping Cross. 1388 To Walsall, 15 miles. A cr. the Stafford and Worcester Canal, and the river Penk.

cr. the river Sow. To Stone, 7

24 miles : 1331

Sandon, 5 miles.

1407 To Newport, 10 miles the capital of the county of that name, is situated on the north bank of the river Sow, about three miles above its junction with the Trent. The situatior. of the town is low but pleasant, the streets being in general regular, and built of stone. A castle, erected here at a very early period, was several times demo lished and rebuilt, but finally destroyed during the Parliamentary war. Its ruins now occupy the summit of a neighbouring hill. The county-hall is an •legant and spacious edifice in the centre of the town. Near it is the market. place, well adapted to the purpose intended. There are also four churches, (the most remarkable of which, St. Mary's, is cruciform, and contains a curious font), several Dissenting places of Worship, a free school founded by Edward VI., a county infirmary, county jail, and lunatic asylum. The inhabitants are chiefly employed in the manufacture of boots and shoes, cutlery, and the tanning of leather. Isaak Walton was a native. There is also considerable traffic with the neighbouring counties by means of railways and canal. The town returns two M.P., and has done so since the reign of Edward I. It gives the title of Marquis to the Dukes of Sutherland, and that of Baron to the Jerningbam family. Population, 1851, 11,829.

Creswell Hall,

Seighford Hall, F.
130 Great Bridgeford. 144 |

cr. the river Sow.

Acton FATT 126 | ECCLESHALL, 1147| Eccleshall Castle, Bishop Johnson Hall.

I of Lichfield and Coventry! a neat and pleasant town, situated on the banks of a small stream that flows into the Sow. In its church Bishop Halse concealed Queen Margaret when she fled from Muckleston. It contains a few monuments of the Bosville family. Eccleshall Castle, the residence of the Bishops of Lichfield and Coventry, was founded at a very early period, and rebuilt in 1310, in consequence of damage received in the civil wars, was repaired in 1695. To Stor.e, 6 miles.

To Newport, 9 miles. Charnes Hall, W.123 Croxton.

Sugnall Hall. Yonge, Esq., and Brough*on Hall, Sir H. D.

Broughton. Broughton, Bart.




« AnteriorContinua »