« AnteriorContinua »
lerres, and the rest forming the large base-court or outer yard of the noble castie. The lordly structure itself, which rose near the centre of this spacious enclosure, was comp ised of a huge pile of magnificent castellated buildings, apparently of different uges, surrounding an inner court, and bearing, in the names attached to each portion of the magnificent mass, and in the armorial bearings which were there blazoned, the emblems of mighty chiefs who had long passed away, and whose history, could ambition have bent ear to it, might have read a lesson to the haughty favourite who had acquired, and was now augmenting, this fair domain. A large and massive keep, which formed the citadel of the castle, was of uncertain though great antiquity. It bore the name of Cæsar, probably froni its resemblance to that in the Tower of London so called. * * * The external wall of this royal castle was, on the south and west sides, adorned and defended by a lake, partly artificial, across which Leicester had constructed a stately bridge, that Elizabeth might enter the castle by a path hitherto untrodden, instead of the usual entrance to the northward, over which he had erected a gatehouse or barbican, which still exists, and is equal in extent, and superior in architecture, to the baronial castle of many a northern chief. Beyond the lake lay an extensive chase, full of red deer, fallow deer, roes, and every species of game, and abounding with lofty trees, from amongst which the extensive front and massive towers of the castle were seen to rise in majesty and beauty."
Elizabeth visited Leicester at Kenilworth in the years 1566, 1568, and 1575. The last visit, wbich far eclipsed all other “Royal Progresses," has been immortalized by Scott. A reference to the ground plan of the castle, and some extracts from the inventory of Leicester's furniture, in the appendix to Scott's "Kenilworth," will afford some idea of the enormous extent of the place, and the costliness of its decorations. After Leicester's death Kenilworth was seized by the crown, and was ultimately granted by Cromwell to certain officers of his arty, who demolished the splendid fabric for the materials. After the Restoration, Charles II. gave the property to Sir Edward Hyde, whom he created Baron Kenilworth and Earl of Clarendon. For a long period the castle was left to rain; but the present Earl of Clarendon has manifested a praiseworthy anxiety to arrest its decay. The only remaining part of the original fortress is the keep of Cæsar's Tower, the walls of which are in some places sixteen feet thick. The remains of the additions made by John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, are termed Lancaster buildings. In the latter are to be seen the relics of the great hall, a fine baronial room, 86 feet in length, and 45 feet in width. Although the erections or Leicester are of the most recent date, they have the most ancient and ruined appearance, baving been built of a brown friable stone, not well calculated to stand the weather. “We cannot but add," says Sir Walter Scott, “ that of this lordly palace, where princes feasted and heroes fought, now in the bloody earnest of storin und siege, and now in the games of chivalry, where beauty dealt the prize which valour won, all is now desolate. The bed of the lake is now a rushy swamp, and the
massy ruins of the castie only serve to show what their splendour once was, and to impress on the musing visitor the transitory value of human possessions, and the happiness of those who enjoy a humble lot in virtuous contentment."
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
Resuming the route to
cr. Warwick and Grove Park, Lord DorPriory.
To Birmingham through was perpetual curate of
Hockley, 17 miles.
Wroxhall Abbey, C. Springfield.
Wren Hoskyns, Esq., the 1051
representative of the cele Temple Balsall. The church is a handsome
brated Sir C. Wren. The building, containing some
mansion stands on the site curious carving.
of a nunnery, erected by
Hugh de Hatton in the 78 Solihull. (1077
time of King Stephen.
Malvern Hall. Olton House.
LXXXIIL LONDON TO BIRMINGHAM BY ST ALBANS, DUNSTABLE,
DAVENTRY, AND COVENTRY, 1087 miles.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
1087 From Hicks's Hall to
Caen Wood, Earl of 1007 Whetstone. 9
Mansfield. While oeenOak Hill, Sir P. H. 983 BARNET 11
pied by the great Lord
Mansfield it narrowly Clarke, Bart.
is a neat town, situated on The Grove.
escaped destruction by the top of a hill, and celeBeech Hill Pa.
the Gordon Rioters; and brated for the battle which Trent Pa. R. C. L.
Fitzroy Farm. took place, in 1471, between Bevan, Esq. the houses of York and Lan
Totteridge Park. Wrotham Park, Earl caster, in which the great of Strafford.
Earl of Warwick lost his Tittenhanger Park life. An obelisk has been Earl of Hardwicke.
erected on the spot. Pop. Derham Park. At a distance Hatfield of parishes in which it is House, the princely seat situated 1851, 5205.
Clare Hall. of the Marquis of Salis-941 South Mimms. 144 bury, erected at the com- Ridge Hill, (Herts.) mencement of the 17th rentury. It belonged to 'ames I., and was ex- 914
London Colney. 174) Colney Ho. hanged' by him for Theobalds. Charles 1. Scross river Colne. was a prisoner here. Two miles beyond is Brocket Hall , the seat of Viscount 88}
ST ALBANS. 21 Rainerston.
St Albans is a town of very great antiquity, having derived its origin from the ruins of the Roman Verulamium. An immense number and variety of antiquities have been discovered here at different times, and some vestiges of the ancient town may still be seen at a little distance from St Albans. Here was formerly a magnificent abbey and monastery for Benedictine monks, of which the fine old abbey church and a large square gateway are now the only remains. The abbey was founded by Offa, King of the Mercians, in honour of St Alban. The church was made parochial in the reign of Edward VI. It has all the appearance of a cathedral, and its interior exhibits the various styles of several ages of architecture, and is adorned with numerous rich screens and monuments. Its appearance from the hill, on the Watford Road, is very striking. The town contains three other churches, in one of which—the church of St Michael-the fine monument to the great Lord Bacon may be seen. St Albans has also a new town-hall, several meeting-houses, and charitable institutions. Two battles were fought here during the wars of the Roses; the first, in 1455, when Richard Duke of York obtained a victory over Henry VI.; the second, in 1461, when Margaret of Anjou defeated the king-maker Earl of Warwick. St Albans returned two members to Parliament till 1852, when it was disfranchised. Population in 1851, 7185. Sir John Mandeville, the traveller, was a native of this town, and there is a monument to his memory in the abbey church. There is ope also to the good Duke Humphrey of Gloucester.
OX RIGHT TROY LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND.
To Hatfield, 5 miles; to Laton, 104 miles.
To Watford, 8 miles. Gorhambury, (Earl of
Childwick Bury,J.LoVerulam. In the park
max, Esq. are the ruins of the Old House, the residence of the Lord Keeper and his 847 Redbourn. 251 Beechwood Park, Sir illustrious son, Lord Ba. 76 DUNSTABLE, Bedfordsh. 333
T. G. S. Sebright, Bart. con. Rothampsted.
famous for its manufacture Market Cell, and 2
of straw.plait bonnets and About 14 mile distant miles distant, Laton Hoo, baskets, and for the size of
are the remains of a BriJ. G. Leigh, Esq. its larks, great numbers of
tish fortification, called Four miles distant is which are sent to London.
Maiden Bower; not far Chalgrave, the church of The church is an ancient
from which are still to be which is very old, and and interesting building, a
seen vestiges of another contains several monu- part of it having been for- named Tottenhal Castle. ments; and 1 mile be- merly attached to a celeyond, is the church of brated priory in the time of
Here is the Roman Toddington, in which are
Henry 1. Charles I. slept Watling Street. tombs of the Cheyne and at the Red Lion Inn on his Strafford families.
way to Naseby. Pop. 1851, To Woburn, 47 miles.
3689. Milton Bryant. 727 Hockliffe. 377. To Leighton Buzzard,
37 miles. Battresden Park, Sir E.
Hockliffe Grange, A. P. Turner, Bart.; and
T. Gilpin, Esq. beyond, Woburn Abbey, Duke of Bedford 1 667! Brickhill (Bucks). 437' Stock Grore.
ON RIGHT FROM LOND.
ON LEFT FROM LOND
cr. Grand Junction Great Brickhil House,
.P. Duncombe, Esq. Canal. Fenny Stratford. | 45 |. In the distance, Whad
Udon Hall, W.S., Lowndes, Wolverton House.
11 STONY STRATFORD Wolverton Park.
Jis built on the Watling
Scr.riv. Ouse and the
Grand Junction Canal. Cosgrove Hall, J. c. 561 Old Stratford, (North- 53 Denshanger, and, s Mansel, Esq.
amptonshire.) Cosgrove Priory.
distant, Wicked Park.
Wakefield Lodge, Duke Stoke Park.
Whitlebury Forest. Easton Neston, Earl of 494 TOWCESTER, (p. 202.1 | 60 | To Brackley, 11 miles Pomfret.
To Northampton, 9 m. A cross river Tow.
47 Foster's Booth. 62
At a distance, Everdon
Hall, and Fawsley Pa. To Northampton, 8 m. i
cr. Grand Junction Sir C. Knightley, Bart. Canal.
and beyond is Canons
Ashby, šir H. E. L. Dry. 378 DAVENTRY 721 den. Bar
den, Bart, representative carries on a considerable ma of the Poet Dryden. nufacture of silk stockings,
Drayton Grange, (Lord shoes, and whips. On an
Overstone); and, 4 miles adjacent eminence, called
distant, Catesby House. Danes' or Borough Hill, are some of the most extensive
Beyond is Shuckburgh encampments in England.
Park, Sir F. Shuckburgh, 2 miles distant is Nor Pop. 1851, 4430.
To Southam, 104 miles. ton Hall, (B. Botfield,
To Banbury, 16] miles Esq.), and, 2 miles farther to the right, Whilton.
Welton Place, R. T. Clarke, Esq.
To Lutterworth, 16 m.!
At a distance Ashby St Leger, containing a small]
Braunston. room in which the gun Here is a handsome church powder plot was concocted. and a curious stone cross. The house belonged to Catesby, one of the con
cr. Oxford Canal, spirators. (See p. 202.) at the cominencement of the
Grand Junction Canal. Ashby Lodge, G. H. 324|Willoughby, (Wur Arnold, Esq.
wickshire.) Dunchurch Lodge.
To Southam, 8 miles
1 mile distant, Bour 85 or ton House; and Birbnry 85 Hall, Sir T. Biddalph,