« AnteriorContinua »
JON RIGHT FROM BRIST.
ON LEFT FROM BRIOT.
1231 Welsh Newton, (Here- 35 Harewood, Sir H, Los
fordshire.) kyns, Bart.
(1191 St Weonards. 39 Treago, P. R. Mynors, Lyston House, Henry 115) Wormelow Tump. 42, Esq; Whittaker, Esq.
Bryngwyn, J. Phillips Near Callow are the rol
Esq., and' 1 m. distant, mains of Roman Camps.
Mynde Park, T. G. SyIn the distance Holme 113
mons, Esq. Lacy, Sir E. F. Scudamore
Allensmore Park, E. B. Stanhope, Bart.
y cr. river Wye.
Pateshall, Esq. 2 m. dist. Rotherwas 1091
49 Park, C. Bodenham, Esq.
The principal building is the cathedral, refounded in the time of William I. It contains numerous sepulchral monuments as far back as the eleventh century. The library contains a great number of MSS., among which is Wyoliffe's Bible. The cathedral was much injured by the fall of the west front in the year 1786, which has been since rebuilt, though with little regard to consistency of architecture. Two of the five churches of the city were destroyed during a siege in 1645. The other buildings worthy of notice are the court-house, the Bishop's Palace, the College inhabited by the vicars choral, the county gaol, the Theatre, of which the Kemble family had for many years the direction, the ruins of a monastery of Blackfriars, &c. The principal manufactures are those of gloves, leather, and flannels. The county has long been celebrated for cider. A triennial meeting is held here of the three choirs of Hereford, Worcester, and Gloucester, for the performance of oratorios, and the profits are appropriated to charitable purposes. Guillim the Herald, Nell Gwynne, and Garrick, were natives of Hereford. It affords the title of Viscount to the Devereux family. The borough returns two M.P. Pop. 1851, 12,113. To Ledbury, 154 m.
To Hay, 194 m. To Worcester, 25) m.
To Kington by Yazor, Bromyard, 14 m.
289, by Weobley, 294 m. Race Course.
(1064 Pipe. 513 Moreton House,
Moreton. 523 104 Wellington
541 Hampton_Court, (J. 1004 Hope under Dinmore. 57. Winsley, Sir J. V. B. Arkwright, Esq.) said to
Johnstone, Bart. have been built by Henry IV. It belonged at one time to Baron Coningsby, 99 Wharton. 591 the General of William III.
cr. river Arrow.
Ryelands, R. La Leominster has various 964
Leominster. 611. The river Lugg meeting-houses, free and This town carries on a the east and noi Inational schools, and cha leonsiderable trade in hats, lof Leominster,
ON RIGHT FROM BRIST.
ON LEFT FROM BRIST.
fitable institutions. Races
To Tenbury, 11 m.
smaller streams through the town. It is of ancient date, and many of the timber and plaster houses are
ornamented with curious and grotesque carvings.
To Kington, 21 m.
wheat, wool, cider, hops,
tury, the Butter cross, a
Y cr. river Lugg. Two roads lead from Leominster to Ludlow, the one by Stockton Cross 11 m. Ashton 21, Brimfield 23, Ashford Bowdler14, Ludlow 21. in all 10 m., or by
Berrington, Lord Rod- 94 ney.
Richard's Castle. Moor Park, J. Salwey,
The Haye Park, J. Sale Esq., and beyond Ash
wey, Esq. ford Hall. 88 Overton, (Shropshire.) 701E89.
The Lodge, J. Salweg.
Ludford Park, E. L. 861 LUDLOW
713 Charlton, Esq.
To Presteiga, 164. 24 m. distant, Henley Court,
To Cleobury Mortimer, 114 m.
To Bridgnorth, 194. is a populous and very ancient town, situated on an eminence at the junction of the rivers Corve and Teme. Here are the ruins of a castle which was long the residence of royalty, and afterwards of the Lords Presidents of the Welsh marches. Prince Arthur, the brother of Henry VIII., held his court, and died in this castle, and Milton's Mask of Comus was first performed here under the direction of the Earl of Bridgewater. In one of the towers, Butler wrote a part of Hudibras. The church contains a number of curious antique monuments and inscriptions. Two M.P. Pop. 1851, 5376.
Much Wenlock, 181 843) Race Course. 739) Oakley Park, Lady he distance Stanton 839| Bromfield Church. and beyond Down811 Onibury.
77 Stone Ho. Earl of Powie Jall, Sir C. H. R.! shton, Bart.
Sibdon Castle, and at al
ON RIGHT PROM BRIST
ON LEFT FROM BRIST.
little distance, Walcot Pam
Earl of Powis.
81 Lydbury North, 9j miles. Felhampton.
Wistanston, Acton Scott Hall
Little Stretton. Two m. distant, at Hope Church Stretton. 874 Bowdler, is the Wrekin, la lofty hill, rising 13:20 feet above the level of the sea. The summit is occupied by an ancient fortification.
To Much Wenlock, 129 miles.
694 All Stretton. 883) | 11 mile distant is Caer!
Here are the traces of
Watling Street, one of the Caradoc or Cradlock, at they
finest specimens of a Rotop of which the remains
man road in the kingdom. Jor an old British campa
It is forned of largestakes, still visible.
with wattles woven between them. Itcommences at Dover, and terminates
6511 Longnor. 92}
641| Dorrington 94 Lyth Hill. To Wellington, 14 iniles.
Condover, E. W. Owen, Esq.
6041 Baiston Hill.
Scr. the Leol brook. Longner Hall, and be 5791
SHREWSBURY. yood Attingham Hall, Lord Berwick.
Shrewsbury is situated on two eminences, and surrounded on three sides by the Severn. The streets are narrow and steep. It was formerly surrounded by a wall, defended by several towers, of which scarcely any vestige now remains Its castle has now become private property, and part of it has been formed into a mansion. Shrewsbury and its neighbourhood have been the scene of various interesting events. The town itself has sustained many severe sieges; and, four miles distant, at Battlefield Church, is the spot where the famous battle took place, in 1403, between Henry IV. and Hotspur. Shrewsbury has on various occasions, for short periods, been the residence of royalty, and Parliaments have also been held within its walls. The town contains many public buildings worthy of notice, among which may be mentioned the different churches, the town-hall, the market-house, the county-hall, the infirmary, the gaol, the free grammar-school, founded by Edward VI., and raised into great repute by Bishop Butler; the theatre, said to have formed part of an ancient palace, &c. There are two handsome bridges over the Severn, and a delightful promenade on its banks, called St Chad's Walk, or the Quarry. Shrewsbury is the chief mart for Welsh webs, which are made in Montgomery.
and dressed here. This town is also famous for its brawn and cakes. It returns two members to Parliament. Pop. 1851, 19,681. Four miles from the town are the interesting ruins of Haughmond Abbey, founded in the year 1100, by William Fitzallan. Of the abbey church the nave only remains, having a roof of fine oak, Speaker Onslow, Dr Burney, and many other eminent men, were natives of this town. From Shrewsbury to Newport is 18 miles; to Welling. ton, 11 miles; to Drayton, 18 miles; Oswestry, 18 miles; Bishop's Castle, 20 miles; Montgomery, 21} miles; Welsh-Pool, 19 miles. Shrewsbury is connected by railway with all parts of the kingdom.