Imatges de pàgina
PDF
EPUB
[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed]
[ocr errors][ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

Marquess of Bute, and gives him the title of Baron Cardiff, as heir general of Sir Wm. Herbert, Earl of Pembroke, K.G., brother-in-law of Henry VIII. The tower of the church is extremely elegant, but there is nothing in the inside worthy of notice. In this town, Robert, Earl of Gloucester, founded a priory of White Friars und another of Black. By means of railway and canal, iron is brought from the works at Merthyr Tydvil, and sent to English and foreign markets. The numerous improvements on the town and its neighbourhood, particularly the docks commenced by the second Marquess, and opened in 1839, and the railways connecting it with London, have already wonderfully increased the prosperity of Cardiff. Upwards of 750,000 tons of coals were shipped at Cardiff in 1853. Pop. (1851) 18,351, and in 1854 little less than 24,000. About two miles from Cardiff is Llandaff, now only an inconsiderable village. The only object deserving attention is the ancient cathedral, the remains of which are very beautiful. Within these ruins a new church, in very bad taste, was erected in the eighteenth century. The Bishop's palace was destroyed by Owen Glendower in the reign of Henry IV. Resuming the route-6 miles from Cardiff are the village and church of St. Nicholas; here a road on the left leads to Duffryn House (J. B. Pryce, Esq.) About half-way between these two places are some ancient monuments, supposed to be Druidic. The largest of these is supported by five stones, forming a room 16 feet long, 15 feet wide, and from 4} to 6 feet high, and open toward the south. At the east side are three stones closely set together. The contents of the largest are 824 square feet. Near Duffryn House there is another cromlech, but of dimensions inferior to the former. It is supposed to have received its present name from the Christians having in contempt converted it into a dog kennel. Between Duffryn House and the sea is Wenvoe Castle (R. F. Jenner, Esq.) On regaining the turnpike the beautiful and picturesque grounds of Cottrell (Admiral Sir G. Tyler) next attract attention. Near the gate grows a magnificent Wych-elm, one of the largest in the kingdom. Llantrithyd Park, the beautiful domain of Sir T. D. Aubrey, Bart., abounds in romantic spots. The house is supposed to have been built in the time of Henry VI. The windows are very large, one of them being twelve feet square. The road now enters a down, and a fine prospect opens to view. The town of Cow. bridge-at the bottom Llanblecddian, with its hill, church, and castle beyond, and the boldly situated Castle Penlline (John Homfray, Esq.) form a scene of grandeur much admired by travellers. COWBRIDGE, or Port-vaen, is a neat borongh and market-town, divided by the river Ddau. It was formerly surrounded by walls, of which one gate, a bold Gothic structure, alone remains. The free grammar school, partly endowed by Sir Leoline Jenkins, a Secretary of State in the reign of Charles II., is in considerable repute. Pop. 1851, 1066. The chapel, which contains several handsome monuments, is singularly constructed, and at a tistance appears like an embattled fortress. In a field near it are a large tumulus,

the remains of a Druidic temple. Cowbridge unites with Cardiff and Llansant in returning a member to Parliament, At a short distance north-east om Cowbridge is Aberthin, a neat rural village, and near it a large elm-tree, which measures 28 feet in circumference. It is hollow, with an entrance like a Gothic doorway, and capable of costaining thirty-six full-grown persons. The

route from Cowbridge to Neath frequently passes through rich pastures and mendows, adorned with plantations and villas, hamlets and villages, none of which deserve particular notice. About 6 miles from Cowbridge is Bridgend, a small irregular town on the river Ogmore. The hamlet of Oldcastle stands on one side of the town, and Newcastle on the other. One of the bridges over the river is an elegant structure. The church-yard affords a fine prospect of the surrounding country. Five miles to the south is Ewenny Abbey, (R. T. Turberrill, Esq.) one of the most perfect specimens of the ancient monastery now extant. Its embattled walls and towers seem to have been intended for defence rather than for devotion. The church is of a cruciform shape, very massive, and in the Norman style of arcbitecture. Onwards the well-wooded hill of Margam presents a fine appearance. It is 1099 feet high, and covered from base to summit with magnificent oak trees, the value of which has been estimated at £60,000. It is the property of C. R. M. Talbot, Esq., of Margain Park. Here is a remarkably fine orangery, which, it is said, had this singular origin. A vessel, conveying from Portugal, to Mary, Queen of William III., a present of orange and lemon trees, was stranded, and the cargo became the property of Sir Thomas, afterwards Lord Mansel. The late T. Mansel Talbot, Esq., in 1787, built for their reception a superb green-house, 327 feet in length, with a handsome palladian front, adorned with statues, vases, and other antique curiosities. In the pleasure ground adjoining is a bay tree, upwards of 60 feet high, and supposed to be the largest in the world. A little farther is the village of Margam, delighwully situated at the verge of the above-mentioned forest, and abounding in monastic antiquities. Here are some very interesting ruins of an abbey, founded by Robert, Earl of Gloucester, in 1147. At the dissolution it was purchased by one of the Mansel family, and is now the property of C. R. M. Talbot, Esq. his representative. While repairing the parish church in 1810 several curious remains were discovered. On the wall of one of the houses, in the village, is a curious ancient cross, and in the adjoining grounds are various monumental stones with inscriptions. On a hill in the neighbourhood, are a large rude stone, 14 feet high, and an entrenched Roman camp. About a mile from Margam was a convent, called Eglwys Nunyd, or Nun's Church, now a farm-house, and near it is a Roman monument 4 feet high. This neighbourhood abounds in coal, iron ore, and Jimestone. At Aberavon very extensive copper works are carried on. Pop. 1851, 6567. The climate in this part of Wales is very mild. Briton Ferry, on the bank of the river Neath, is surrounded by scenery of remarkable beauty. Near it is Baglan House (H. Gwyn, Esq.) Baglan Hall, the property of Griffith Llewellyn, Esq., commands varied and extensive views of the river and the adjacent surrounding country. The tourist may either cross the ferry, and proceed to Swansea (5 miles), or continue the pleasing route along the bank of the Neath to the town of that name. A broad-gauge railway is now (1853) opened from Neath to Merthyr Tydvil. The Neath canal, 14 miles in extent, terminates at Giant's Grave, where 60,000 tons of coal are shipped annually. Further on there is a single stone monument, called Maen Llythyrog, reckoned one of the remotest relies of antiquity. Gnoll, situated on the summit of a hill, commands a very extensive prospect. Its hanging woods, shady walks, and picturesque cascades,

« AnteriorContinua »