After a Shadow and Other Stories

DigiCat, 15 d’ag. 2022 - 99 pāgines
DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "After a Shadow and Other Stories" by T. S. Arthur. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

Des de l'interior del llibre

Pāgines seleccionades



Altres edicions - Mostra-ho tot

Frases i termes més freqüents

Sobre l'autor (2022)

T. S. Arthur, born Timothy Shay Arthur on June 6, 1809, was a prolific American author known for his temperance and literary tales highlighting moral, social, and domestic issues of the mid-19th century. His approach to literature was didactic, seeking to impart lessons and encourage virtue among his readers. A significant figure in shaping public opinion through fiction, Arthur's works reflect the era's concerns about alcohol abuse, which culminated in the temperance movement, to which he was a notable contributor. His stories, such as those compiled in 'After a Shadow and Other Stories', demonstrate his keen interest in the moral dilemmas faced by ordinary people. Arthur's style is characterized by its straightforward narrative and moral clarity, aiming to inspire and educate rather than simply entertain. Throughout his career, he authored over 150 volumes of work, cementing his place in the American literary tradition. Though many contemporary critics have overlooked Arthur's contributions, his stories remain an important part of America's literary heritage, capturing the values and challenges of 19th-century life. His legacy persists as a mirror to the social conscience of his time, offering valuable insight into American culture and history.

Informaciķ bibliogrāfica